Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
69
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2012
You could quibble that it doesn't have your favourite track by the splendid artists included. You could quibble that its missing your favourite artist,
But , if you want to try a pile of excellent tracks by a good range of excellent artists , what better way and what cheaper way to do so- Well done Proper - keep on keeping on with this scheme
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
Another attractively priced sampler of modern folk showcasing the new generation of folk singers, such as Seth Lakeman. Like any good sampler it encourages you to listen and then search out more of the music. I particularly liked June Tabor & Oysterband singing 'Bonny Bunch Of Roses' and Kathryn Roberts & Sean Lakeman impressed on first listening singing 'Money Or Jewels' from their album 'Hidden People'. An excellent introduction to some fine music.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2012
All folk fans know how expensive folk CDs can be, so it was fantastic to find this 10 track CD for less than £5!

I'm new to the folk scene and enjoying discovering new artists, so this was perfect to get a taster of different artists.

On the strength of 2 of the songs, I actually went out and bought June Tabor & Oysterband and Bellowhead albums.

Bellowhead's Lillibulero is brilliant!

I'd highly recommend this to everyone, a fab selection of songs and artists and great value for money
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2012
10 excellent tracks from artists at the top of their game.

From Bellowhead's lively rendition of Lillibulero, through Heidi Talbot's haunting 'My Sister The Moon', to Show of Hands west country anthem 'Now You Know', seriously there isn't a bad track here.

If there was any justice in the music world, this would be the next Christmas number one!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
I'm not a folk fan but I like to have some in my collection for when the mood strikes and for adding to my more esoteric playlists to spice the flavours up. This fits the bill sonically and price wise. I also get to increase my knowledge of contemporary folk to boot. Proper value for money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2012
Unlike many collections this is a very good choice, and at a price that was unbelievable. A chance to listen to some artists that you might not have heard; but all very good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2012
I've bought a few of these compilation CDs from Amazon and they are all excellent value for money, this one being particularly so. If you're interested in modern British folk music, this is an excellent collection, the only down side is that if you collect/listen to other similar music, for example Bellowhead, you may already have some of the tracks. But the tracks are good, well balanced and if you're unsure about 'folk' music, this could be a good introduction for you because it not only shows how good the musicians are, it also gives a balance across some of the modern sub-sets of folk. Go buy it, it's worth it !!!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2012
Anyone who liked the first CD will love this one.
And if you like this one you'll also like Bending the dark by Imagined Village.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
What a bargain this is! For £2, you get a varied diet of rousing and lyrical folk songs from grandees of the genre. There is something to tickle everyone's palate: an achingly beautiful ballad by Kathryn Roberts and Sean Lakeman (Money or Jewels), a Hardyesque love song by Show of Hands (Now You Know) and the beguiling pixie-voiced Heidi Talbot singing My Sister the Moon. Lastly, Jon Boden and Sam Sweeney sing Sweet Thames Flow Softly, which, according to the editor, didn't fit with their other stuff in Bellowhead's album Broadside. For me it is the icing on the cake - how could they have resisted lines like: 'I kissed her once again at Wapping...after that there was no stopping'? A proper feast!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
I bought this because I wanted to increase my range of my most liked recent 'folk' beyond Show of Hands and a couple of others. I have not been disappointed.

It's been tempting to immediately buy more of all the artists sampled here - but I've started with Fay Hield's Orfeo (the sampler CD offers a £1 discount on this and other selected CDs).

Calling the CD a 'sampler' is a bit misleading because it stands up in its own right as a well thought out and pleasurable production. Do I need to add I highly recommend it?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.06

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)