Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 16 September 2001
A very comprehensive and easy-to-read book about the whole process of marketing and promoting an album/single including detailed step-by-step info about the choice (cost-benefit) to market/promote via radio, print media, MTV and retail display. From its title, I was expecting an only in-depth about the marketing & promo AFTER an album is produced, but the authors also cover the decision-making BEFOREHAND - how an atist is signed up, determination of how to package, image...the bigger picture, ie. Also how to get good distribution, including non-traditional methods like direct mailing. And a whole chapter on new media - the internet and how one can by-pass traditional channels to get one's music out there..
The chapter on artist royalty calculations provices one of the simplest and most easy to understand explanations about the complex calculations adopted by the major labels...I have read explanations given in other so-called "beginner's guides" and made no sense, and this is by far the best..
Lastly, the authors provide lots of real-life anecdotes about how the labels/artists themselves do it - a diverse range of examples - George Winston, Aerosmith, Fugazi, etc
Very entertaining and dare I say it, riveting! Highly recommended for anyone who wants to succeed in the music business, whether an artist, marketer or label management
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2010
I used this book for my bachelor thesis and it was very helpful, but unfortunately too one-sided. It concentrates exclusively on the American side of the story, because of which I had to get another one with more emphasis on the European and Asian markets. However, it does provide enough basic marketing and advertising information with relation specifically to the production of music.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2016
Would have been a good book at the time it was written but has been made completely irrelevant in todays music climate. it has lines in it such as "videos can provide a substantial promotional benefits, however, they can also serve as sources of income through sales of digital video discs and VHS video cassettes." or a sections where it states that Cassettes and Cd's are an artists main source of income.

If you are looking for a book to compare the music industry of the past with todays, this is for you.

if you need something about the industry today, avoid it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2016
It is a bit Archaic. The industry has moved on since...

Sadly the music industry is suffering as a result of the digital age where many musicians now have given up selling their music but making ends meet by doing local gigs etc.

I find 'The Essential Guide for Serious Singers and Musicians' by Saphron Watson; pick up where this book leaves off. It is like the modern day Music Bible covering most subjects from:

Music copyright performance
Music lawyers and why they are not effective
Marketing your band and music even in this digital age
Branding your band as a viable business
Dirty tactics and politics inside the music industry
Music Publishers/MCP Royalties and how it works and protection for the artist
Music Contracts and what to avoid
How to use social media etc...
Creating your own big event following all health and safety checks and much more…

The music industry is in a mess but this book 'An Essential Guide for Serious Singers and Musicians' is honest and packed with powerful information that will give any musician the confidence to launch themselves with or without the backing of the music industry
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2010
Arrived quickly and as described. I was interested in becoming an Independent Label and bought this book to get me on my way. It is written very well and organised so that even a novice like me enjoys reading it. It describes what you need to do and gives very good ideas on how to make your dream come true. If you are thinking of starting a label...check out this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
Service good. Arrived in very good condition. The student who required it was satisfied. I have no idea what they made of the books contents. It was required for a course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2015
I didnt read yet, but it seems is divided nicely through chapters and steps that you may need. Definetely used as a reference for future projects/work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2014
Highly recommended book for people looking to invest in property
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
Great book and good delivery and standards for books!!! X
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)