Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now



on 31 October 2017
A good reference book for the part time history follower like me. Joining up & consolidating patches remembered from history lessons at school.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2017
Good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2017
Excellent value. Condition very good. Small tear on dust cover of no account. Great reference book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2005
Antonia Fraser's 'The Lives of the Kings and Queens of England' has long been one of my favourite books (since my childhood, really), because it has both breadth and brevity simultaneously, a rare feat. Lady Fraser's style is evident here, a non-imposing and non-technical style, that is nonetheless satisfying to all but the most rigourous of academic historians.
Fraser's account begins with the Norman invasion; like many books on royal history, scant attention is paid to pre-Norman figures. Fraser groups the monarchs into categories:
Normans
Angevins
Plantagenets
House of Lancaster
House of York
Tudors
Stuarts
House of Hanover
House of Saxe-Coburg-Gotha
House of Windsor
Putting together the genealogical tables is a fun exercise--beware here, however, that lesser historical figures are left off the charts (thus, Queen Anne's bevy of children are not represented on the genealogy as none lived to assume the crown or perpetuate the line). Each monarch is given an article about 10-15 pages in length (a good bedtime reading length, I've found). Pictures and paintings help place visually the stories, together with the interspersed essays on coats-of-arms and other topics.
Fraser likes to find the humourous aspects whenever possible. Writing on William IV's distaste for the young Victoria's mother:' 'In 1836 the Duchess of Kent took over a large suite of rooms in Kensington Palace without the King's permission. William was furious. If he died now, Victoria would not be old enough to rule without her mother as Regent. At a public dinner, attended by more than a hundred guests, William said that he hoped his life would be spared long enough to prevent such a calamity.'
His wish was granted.
An ideal gift for anyone, child to adult, who has an interest in the history of the British royals, and a good ready-reference for students, this book is first-rate.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2005
Antonia Fraser's 'The Lives of the Kings and Queens of England' has long been one of my favourite books (since my childhood, really), because it has both breadth and brevity simultaneously, a rare feat. Lady Fraser's style is evident here, a non-imposing and non-technical style, that is nonetheless satisfying to all but the most rigourous of academic historians.
Fraser's account begins with the Norman invasion; like many books on royal history, scant attention is paid to pre-Norman figures. Fraser groups the monarchs into categories:
Normans
Angevins
Plantagenets
House of Lancaster
House of York
Tudors
Stuarts
House of Hanover
House of Saxe-Coburg-Gotha
House of Windsor
Putting together the genealogical tables is a fun exercise--beware here, however, that lesser historical figures are left off the charts (thus, Queen Anne's bevy of children are not represented on the genealogy as none lived to assume the crown or perpetuate the line). Each monarch is given an article about 10-15 pages in length (a good bedtime reading length, I've found). Pictures and paintings help place visually the stories, together with the interspersed essays on coats-of-arms and other topics.
Fraser likes to find the humourous aspects whenever possible. Writing on William IV's distaste for the young Victoria's mother:' 'In 1836 the Duchess of Kent took over a large suite of rooms in Kensington Palace without the King's permission. William was furious. If he died now, Victoria would not be old enough to rule without her mother as Regent. At a public dinner, attended by more than a hundred guests, William said that he hoped his life would be spared long enough to prevent such a calamity.'
His wish was granted.
An ideal gift for anyone, child to adult, who has an interest in the history of the British royals, and a good ready-reference for students, this book is first-rate.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2010
This book has long been a permanent part of my library. I had a very well thumbed pocket-sized edition which I bought 30 years ago and I reluctantly had to replace it when it literally fell to pieces. This new larger illustrated edition is very impressive but it doesn't make for easy reading in bed!
Having hauled the thing in to bed, however, I like the length of each chapter - each is short enough not to get too bogged down and yet informative enough to pique my interest. The stories come alive and many times I have gone on to seek out more detailed biographies of certain favourite monarchs. Indeed, many of these biographies are by Ms Fraser herself. A wonderful resource which is good to have on hand for the curious mind and a good standby when one is between books.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2000
I had been looking for a high quality survey of the history and development of the English monarchy - and I found it here. Trying to cover such a complex subject and long period of time within the constraints of a relatively small volume inevitably means that the accounts cannot be too detailed. Nevertheless, the depth of the material covered, both personal and political, is impressive, as is the crisp writing and the obviously thorough research and editing. Whatever you may think of the monarchy and its future (if it has one), this book is informative, entertaining proof that it has one helluva a past.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2007
This book is great

I have read many books on Kings and Queens but this has to be the best.

Each monarch has about 2 pages dedicated to them. In thses 2 pages you will find out alot about each monarch their goodside and badside. There is also a large selection of pictures. Unlike most others, this book offers personal pictures of each of the monarchs.

This great book is a MUST READ for those interested in Britains royal heritage.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2008
a fascinating look at the lives of some of the most bonkers, deluded, pampered and egotistical people ever to have lived. perhaps the best chapter is that on richard iii, which seeks to dispell the myth that he was one of the bad guys. but it's not BY antonia fraser, it's only EDITED by her. i wouldn't've paid what amazon are asking for it though. i got my copy in a charity shop for £1. richly illustrated and told in accessible language. a great read to enjoy for hours or just to dip into.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2001
A rare achievement to write a history book which could never gather dust in a bookcase. This comprehensive guide of royal lives spanning from thenormans to the present House of Windsor is so well constructed it makes anabsorbing read, as well as a useful reference book. It is beautifullyillustrated encompassing portraits heraldry etc. a postive gem
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)