Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive playlist - Elton John Pre-order now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
14
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 June 2009
An excellent and very detailed account of Mitchell's approach to directing. Her focus is on "The Seagull" and it helps - but is not essential - to have read the play. The amount of preparation, research and analysis she puts in before ever setting foot in a rehearsal room will be mind-boggling for many students or wannabe directors. This is a welcome balance of intellectual rigour, insight and common sense - with no wishy-washy artbollox terminology whatsoever.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2010
Essentially, "the next to perfect" breakdown of how to direct a show in a very profound professional way. This definately takes you to the next level and definately heightens how to make the best of what your trying to achieve!!!

I'm an assistant director putting on a play in 3.5 months time. This totally put things into perspective. Buy it. Its a must! Why are you still reading? Go do it NOW
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
I bought this as a guide to directing my first opera - actually my first anything. Although it is about directing a play, the method adapts well. As amateurs our rehearsal time is only a fraction of what is required here, but the background research and development allowed us to go into rehearsal well prepared. The tips on dealing with actors (singers) and likely problems were invaluable. While it was impossible to do everything recommended in the book, following the advice wherever possible enabled a smooth, successful and relatively hassle-free production. This handbook had my back - so glad I found it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
Brilliant, practical, inspiring and very easy to read - any aspiring director (and I suspect many established ones) would benefit from reading this book. Every aspect of what makes a good director is covered. Deserves it's reputation for being the most recommended, "if you only buy one book on directing buy this one" offering. So often handbooks can be dry and tedious, but this, with all it's practical examples and reassurance is interesting as well as instructive and informative. Cannot recommend highly enough
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
I have been wanting a book like this for a very long time - it's so practical, full of great examples and is really helpful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
Wonderfully detailed descriptions and explanations for each technique that is written about.
A very useful tool to understand and direct a play. It also helps in deciding what approach to take towards individual characters, each act and scene, and the overall style of the piece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2015
Needed this for my theatre studies in university, underlined all the concepts I needed to know and the book itself got me very good grades in my exams.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
This is a really well written book and is very comprehensive. Katie Mitchell has a refreshing and exciting view on directing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
a must for all theatre-directors to be! quickly and efficiently shipped, worth every penny!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2016
A must have/must read for anyone who is serious about directing in the theatre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)