Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2013
It is superb!!!!! I'd only heard him on American Idol and thought the album may be different with a few good tracks - every track is fantastic and I hadn't realised he had written all bar 2 tracks. You'll not be disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
INTRODUCTION:

Phillip LaDon Phillips, Jr. (born September 20, 1990) is an American singer-songwriter from Leesburg, Georgia. He won the eleventh season of American Idol on May 23, 2012. His coronation song "Home", released after his win, became the best selling of all coronation songs. "Home" has 4,473,000 in digital sales. This marks the first time that an American Idol winner's "coronation song" has sold 2 million copies. The previous best-seller among coronation songs was David Cook's "The Time Of My Life," which has sold 1,463,000 copies. "Home," which has the rootsy appeal of Mumford & Sons, entered the Hot 100 at #10 in June, the week after Phillips was crowned the Season 11 winner. It then tumbled down the chart until NBC featured the song during its coverage of the Summer Olympics in August. The week after it was featured on the Olympics, it rebounded from #84 to #9, and eventually peaked at Number 6. But the amazing chart achievement of “Home” was in the Adult Contemporary Chart, where it stayed at the Number 1 position for 12 weeks!

CONTENT:

The World From The Side Of The Moon was released November 19, 2012, peaked at Number 4 on Billboard 200, and has sold an amazing 879,000 copies.

The song listing (with chart position and year) is as follows:

01 Man on the Moon
02 Home (Pop 6/2013; AC 1(12)/2013)*this song is also found in the Country Hits 2013
03 Gone, Gone, Gone (Pop 52/2013; AC 7/2013)
04 Hold On
05 Tell Me a Story
06 Get Up Get Down
07 Where We Came From
08 Drive Me
09 Wanted Is Love
10 Can't Go Wrong
11 A Fool's Dance
12 So Easy

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Phillip Phillips is also a very talented song writer. He wrote 9 of the 12 songs above. The audio is very well remastered, with clean, crisp, vibrant sound, and fantastic beat. I hope that he will stay popular, like the other Idol winners, Kelly Clarkson and Carrie Underwood (who was great appearing with the Rolling Stones in concert in Toronto this week). Phillip Phillips suffered from a congenital kidney condition that produces stones so large he cannot pass them. Soon after American Idol had finished, he had the kidney stones surgically removed as well as reconstructive surgery done on his kidney. Personally as a physician, I do wish him well and good health in the future. The entire CD is enjoyable and very well done, and is highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
Bought this as I tend to watch American Idol and Phillip Phillips stood out as a real individual who's tone and style I really liked. Saw this online, gave it a shot and was very happy! Real good debut album, hardly skip any songs and some real stand out tracks. One or two songs go away from his 'usual' style and are weaker than others but really hopes he gets another album as this is top notch
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
When Philip won American Idol i knew he wouldn't let us down with his album when it was released...
The tracks have his style on them, and that's what i like about it, that no-one else sounds like him.
Even my 11 year old son loves the album, (because its different to anything he's heard before),
You have some upbeat tracks and you have some slower ballad tracks but this blends nicely to make the album one that you can listen to over and over again.
I would certainly give this 10/10 and recommend it to anyone,
Fantastic Album and can't wait for his next one.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2012
I watched Phillip Phillips on American Idol in UK and really grew to like him. When the album came out I tried to buy in the UK, but I could not find it in the shops or iTunes!!!

Bought CD, and am sooo happy I did. Fantastic album and standout songs so far are:
Home
Wanted is Love
Hold On
Man on the Moon

Off to listen to some more!!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
I watched Philip on American Idol and loved him from the start..The best winner by a clear mile. I listen to this everyday in my car and even my four year son asks me to put it on so he can sing along. Brilliant....can't wait for the next one
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
I had high expectations for this album and I was not disappointed. I am not usually a fan of music show winners but Phillip Phillips is different. He is himself - not manufactured at all. There is not a bad track on the album and the more I play it,the more I love it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
Play this fab album all the time in my car. Sure he will have very long career - very talented guy!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
When I saw Philip Philips on American Idol I sat up and took note, he must be the most credible musician to win Idol since its inception. He's got a very unique tone and married to the beautiful sound of his Taylor GS7 guitar, I was hooked from the first second I heard his mad rendition of Thriller. I bought this on import as soon as I realised he had an album out. After two agonising weeks it arrived, and boy was it worth the wait. The album is up-beat and uplifting, the musical accompaniments kept to a minimum, and Phil's voice and guitar are the most prominent sounds on all the tracks, which is exactly what I wanted.

His sound is most reminiscent of Dave Matthews, (and that's a massive compliment) but with less of a blues influence and a purer sound due to a substantially smaller band presence. Again, this is exactly what I was hoping for. This album has gone straight to the top of my collection, I love every song, they are catchy, and not too complicated if you want to grab your guitar and play along!

I'll be listening to this album for a long time, and will continue to follow Philip's career with great interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
Fantastic album the songs are beautifully written and have me and the kids either bopping along in the car or singing very loud. I do have a couple of favourites but all the songs are great
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)