Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 12 January 2010
I did enjoy this book but it's fairly lightweight and falls somewhere in between analysis and episode guide, not really succeeding at either.

Aside from a handful of interviews and top 5 lists the book consists of a brief blog post of each episode of the Wire. For the first couple of series these are followed by selected blog comments. The problem is that given the origin of text... blog posts by a lot of different people there is a lack of cohesion and tone from episode to episode. Limited space means that the level of analysis is fairly limited as well. As an episode guide it fails for similar reasons, there's no consistancy and while some entries discuss the episode in question, some will only focus on a specific character or theme.

For a Wire fan it's still a good read though. Anything that helps you relive "The Greatest TV Show Ever Made" can't be that bad!

A final word of warning... the entire thing is very spoiler heavy. Don't read it until you've finished the whole show as the entries for early epsiodes will often include details of events later in the show.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2017
Didn't enjoy it. Too much clap trap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2015
Really interesting breakdown of the episodes and the wider themes in The Wire. Keep in mind it is almost essentially just the articles from the Guardian website though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2012
Great interviews and analysis by many. 90 per cent or so pro the wire analysis. Little criticism although is it possible to be critical of the greatest tv show ever?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2011
I got into the Wire very late, watching all the Series in DVD box set form. As such I missed out on the chance to talk to people about what we were watching as it was happening. This book basically brings that experience to life in what is, in places, a book copied and pasted from the Guardian website.

The people who comment in the book are knowledgeable to a far greater degree and clarified for me a number of details that I didn't know I didn't know!

Basically if you want to fill the hole that you feel when you finish the Wire - this book will keep it alive for a little be longer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2010
This book is great for any Wire fan, it gives yo that extra detailed fix of the social realism that is The Wire. The section sby the writers on the background to The Wire are really interesting. I would only read this after you've watched all 5 series of the programme as the risk of plot spoiling is high.
Not really a book fo rthe casual Wire viewer (if such a thing exists) and a must for the army of committed Wire fans everywhere.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2010
If you don't know what all the fuss is over this show, then this book could well spark your interest - it is also for already-addicted-hooked-on-wire fans as it explores and illuminates details - as well as interviews with the writers and actors, there are comments from viewers as each series unfolded.
It's a fascinating read, with helpful references - well done to all the contributors!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2010
As a huge fan of The Wire I was genuinely interested to see if The Wire Re-up would offer anything beyond the excellent HBO book which accompanies the series written by Rafael Alvarez. It doesn't.

Made up largely of blog type entries which you can read for free (if you're desperate) on any number of nauseatingly brown nosing web sites, this book seems to focus entirely on people congratulating themselves for getting The Wire.

Ignoring the central themes of each series; the futility of the war on drugs, the death of work, the failings of City Hall etc, the contributors to this book don't get much beyond "Wow... isn't Marlo mean?!" and "If I get what Felicia Pearson is saying, does that mean I'm street?"

Please don't buy this book.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2012
This book is a cheap cash in and is not an official publication and mostly contains reviews from the internet. The worst thing about the book are the reviews by Paul Owen which really drag the other reviews down, I found his reviews pretentious, very politically correct, looking for issues that really aren't there and against everything the Wire is about. Love the Wire-best programme ever, but this book is a waste of money and major disapointment!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2010
after seeing this book advertised in the guardian many many times i bought it, regrettably without reading a couple of these reviews first. i have to agree with jon cooper (?) that this book is pointless,awful and not worth buying. it reads like a group of pub bores sitting around a pint and talking about their favourite television programme. if you were unfortunate to be sitting next to them you would move to a different table
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)