Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
18
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2017
Very good read. Flew with Captain John Hutcinson on Concorde 216 to New York in 1986.so it was nice to learn of his very varied flight career.
33 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2016
This traditional biography of the Concorde pilot John Hutchinson really takes off when the supersonic aircraft enters the story, as it charts the turbulent course from rising to the pinnacle of aeronautical technology on the first flight in March 1969 to falling to earth in the Paris crash of July 2000.

Along the way there are family tragedies and a dramatic hijacking at sea.

Susan Ottaway clears knows the nuts and bolts of the aviation industry and has been granted access to the most minute of details of the Hutchinson family archive.

An ideal read for all air aficionados.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
This has got to be one of the best books of all time, detailing the life of John Hutchinson and written by Susan Ottaway .From his early flying days to flying Concorde. It mentions many different aircraft he has flown in. Some great stories, some great sadness along the way. Some narrow escapes
John Hutchinson, is my hero. Great tales flying The VC10, and The Boeing 707, and many others. Couldn't put the book down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
A really great insight into the life and career of a legend, a gentleman and a Concorde pilot. Fantastic level of detail by Susan Ottaway, even John learnt a lot about his early years! Quote from John's post on the Save Concorde Group Facebook page: " I learnt quite a lot about my early life from her research!"

Highly recommended for anyone with an interest of all things Concorde.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
Well what can I say, this book had me hooked from the beginning. From a very young age I've always been in love with Concorde, and the fact that she was retired was an insult to everyone across both the UK and France. But that aside, I've always been keen on who has flown Concorde, (pilots wise), so when I found out about Captain John Hutchinson's book, I grabbed a copy. This is a brilliant book, well written and has had me both laughing and crying. This is a great insight into the person, and his passion for Concorde. I'm not going to say anymore, just take my word for it, buy the book and read it, you'll see what I mean.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2016
Once, waiting in the long take-off queue that is characteristic of Heathrow airport, the pilot drew our attention to another plane also waiting patiently, behind us and across the stretch of grass that separated the runway, pointing out, with obvious admiration in his voice, 'the Concorde'. Having read this biography I wonder if the pilot that day was the subject of Ottaway's sympathetic and fascinating biography, John Hutchinson. Not just an account of flying, this is the very human and moving biography of a pilot who had more than his share of the cliched, 'tragedy and triumph', privately and professionally. Ottaway brings us into the life of Hutchinson and his family from Indian partition to the demise of Concorde and on into the present. The history of British aviation from immediately after the Second World War until the present is also very much part of this book, and for those of us old enough to have the BOAC junior jet club log-book and those much too young, this will be an absorbing read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
A riveting read involving tremendous highs and gut wrenching sad lows
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2016
John Hutchinson is a legendary Concorde pilot (and experienced enough to have some harsh words about the Flight 4590 crash) with a fascinating life story that involves escaping partition-era India. a few brushes with death, and extensive experience with the supersonic jet. His story is well worth a book. And author Ottaway knows what she's talking about, having worked in civil aviation. She's a thorough researcher and talented writer who brings the whole thing to life. Very enjoyable biography with some great stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2016
This was a real page turner for me, and what a fantastic and interesting life John has led. There are some real moments of drama and sadness, but John and his wife Sue are an engaging focus throughout his story, and I really found myself becoming involved, and caring, about their lives.
As well as hearing John's informed opinion on the fateful Concorde, his story also takes us back to when India becomes independent, his training as a pilot in Canada and many other far-flung adventures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
John is an inspiration to many aviators. A successful Airline Captain, broadcaster and lecturer. His story warts and all is a truly inspiring read. Many of of would have seen and heard him as a BBC air show commentator. This book is truly fantastic, inspirational with moments of uncontrollable laughter to utter sadness. Such a memorable and candid book. Highly recommended .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)