Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2007
Yep, this boxset, and the rest of Will Hay's films go to prove that the man was an absolute comic genius. Although these are probably his most famous films. I don't actually believe there is a bad film in this set, my personnal fave is 'Oh, Mr Porter', but the rest are close on it's heals. Well worth every penny. I notice now that this set has undergone a design change, i.e all the films are now in a gatefold sleeve - no matter, this does not deter from the brilliant humour within, buy it and enjoy an afternoon of solid British humour, the Will Hay way!
55 Comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 November 2004
I've been wanting to see this ever since I read Barry Norman including it as one of his favourite 100 films of all time. He wasn't wrong either. Will Hay is William Porter, an incompetent railway-worker, who is sent to the forgotten outpost of Buggleskelly, on the Northern Ireland border, so that he can stop embarrassing his family. There he finds that hardly any trains ever go through, the signal-box is used to grow tomatoes in, they hang their washing over the railway line, and it's rumoured to be haunted after dark by the ghost of One-Eyed Joe (who turns out to be very much alive!).
This is sparkling slapstick comedy, and refreshingly free from any trace of Oirish whimsy, it's more like a cross between "Monty Python" and "Father Ted". In fact if Craggy Island had had a railway station it would probably be something like this! "Is it alright if I put my signals up now?" "Well if it gives you pleasure ...."
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2010
I was impressed by the picture quality, bearing in mind the age of the film. The sound was better than expected as well. The humour stands up well after 70 years even if the fx don't. Far better than some Laurel & Hardy dvd's I have bought in the past (and dumped, they were so bad) However, there was a distinct lack of extras - even trailers for other films by Will Hay. I get the impression it is part of a boxed set but sold singly. I wonder if the set would have any other info on Hay or the film itself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
One of my favourite comedians.enjoyed it immensely. Delivery was very promo.can't grumble.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
brother loved the film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
Deliveded on time and great quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
great service, love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2002
Will Hay was at his best in his partnership with Moore Marriat and Grahame Moffatt and this is probably the best film of that partnership.
It's hard to describe why this film is so good, but it's probably because of the mix of one-liners, slapstick, comic expressions and plot all fit so well together.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2004
Will Hay was without question one of the best music hall and film comedians of his time.
In these heady days of easycome-easygo humour, it is easy to forget that good comedy has been around for a long long time. I doubt your average 20+yrs old would come across, or wish to see, this sort of black and white film humour; but what a little gem they will be missing.
Look beyond the the black and white footage, the dated topics of converstion and you see a rich tapestry of wit and timeless humour.
Will Hay has the timing of a comic genious, and his two sidekicks
are equally brilliant.
Oh Mr Porter is considered a classic of it's time and I wouldn't argue with that. It does get a little slow towards the end but is more than madeup for by the beginning.
There is no swearing, no violence, no innuendo, just a brilliant script and great acting.
Will Hay made several great films; probabaly the best are Oh Mr Porter, Old Bones, Boys will be Boys, Good Morning Boys and Where's the fire. Some are a bit too long and loose a little on plot, but some idividual scenes are 'diamonds'. If you are not sure about buying the whole set, maybe buy one of the ones I recommend and see if you enjoy it.
11 Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2001
This is one of Will Hay's finest films. Hay is excellent in his role as the station master, playing his usual incompetant role. Harbottle and Albert seen to get better in Will Hay films the older and fatter they get (respectively), and they're old and fat in this little beauty! Gun running, train crashes and a funny man with a squeeky voice - It's all here. Miles a head of it's time and all together a top film! Buy it, and all the rest of the Will Hay films right now, they will change your life!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)