Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 24 June 2017
Gave this to my partner before we embarked on a trip to Albania. He found it very interesting, it gave him a good historical background to the country.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2017
Excellent read !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2008
This excellent and gripping book is a must buy for anyone serious about understanding the Second World War and its aftermath, as well as for anyone serious about cracking good reads. On almost every page there is a fascinating fact - not least legendary British actor Anthony Quayle's involvement in SOE - and they are all woven into a skillful whole that will by the end give the reader a new perspective on Europe and the perils of messing about in other people's countries. By turns breathtaking, funny, tragic and sometimes horrifying, the book is an indictment of the human spirit and what it is capable of: courage, determination, betrayal and dreadful violence. The best kind of modern history writing.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2009
Roderick Bailey paints a detailed and extremely well researched picture of a hardly known episode of WWII when British soldiers fought with the partisans in occupied Albania. It is full of historical data based on many primary sources including declassified official documents, oral reports, diaries etc. There is not only plenty of historical insight, but a beautifully written, readable story which should appeal not only to historians, but also to the interested general reader. This book thoroughly deserves five stars.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 July 2010
I echo what other enthusiastic Amazon readers have written about this excellent book. It is first rate narrative history: thoroughly researched, highly detailed and with the successful sweep of epic fiction, except of course it isn't fiction. From the start of the account of the SOE in Albania you are gripped by the story which is bizarre, comic, tragic and terrifying. "The Wildest Province" is Bailey's first book based I understand on some ten years' preparatory work. As such it is a remarkable achievement.

On a personal note, I worked as a young teacher in the late 1960's with one of the characters who has a prominent role in the book. At the time I had no idea of his wartime exploits in Albania:he was a somewhat diffident, middle-aged art teacher by the time I got to know him and he never referred to the subject. Imagine my surprise when I saw his photograph in this book, a smiling, early twenty-year-old, sitting on a rock, high-powered rifle in hand!

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2011
Fascinating read, and extremely well researched and documented.Cleary shows there was no grand conspirancy within SOE ranks to favor the Communist led resistence at the expense of what passed for 'resistance' by the motley crew of mountain tribes, the Mat region, and nationalist factions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
An interesting set of tales from a side show of WW2. It ties in with so many bits of Cold War history too. Well set out with the required maps and photos.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2015
Excellent read. Huge admiration for these brave SOE operatives in Albania in WW2. Groundbreaking research and exciting narration are united in this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
Excellent stuff about an almost forgotten story of WW II. My father was involved so I had double interest. Compliments to the writer who is a very young historian. I wish he could have spoken to my father but it is a perfect account as it is.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
some pagers missing unfortunately -otherwise good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)