Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now



on 14 November 2017
This is the third time I've bought The Wicker Man on DVD. I bought it for the so-called 'final cut' which is actually the director's cut distributed in the US in 1979 - which, although recently 'rediscovered' has to be the same version the BBC showed in their 'moviedrome' strand some 30 years ago. So we now have the 'director's cut' (actually the original cut) the original theatrical version, and the final cut which is actually the director's cut. What a rigmarole. The version I want to see is the longest possible version with the maximum picture quality possible and I might even edit my own version (for my own use, of course) when I have the software/ hardware. The special features are reused from previous editions including the dreadful archive interview conducted by Stirling.... SMITH! The 'deep south's leading film critic' seems half-cut throughout What new 'special features' that are particular to this edition are a couple of overlong interview segments including a painfully dull interview with director Robin Hardy who is boring. Overall, I suppose it's nice to have this version if you're a die-hard or if you don't have the 2006 release, but for just a couple of minutes of upgraded footage, don't bother.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2013
This release contains the 94 minutes version of the film, (at the time of writing) you can still buy the 3 disc set

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Wicker-Man-3-Disc-Anniversary-Blu-ray/dp/B00E5BTJGG

The special features are Burnt Offering: The Cult Of The Wicker Man documentary; Worshiping The Wicker Man - Famous Fans featurette; The Music Of The Wicker Man featurette; Interview with Robin Hardy; 1979 Interview with Christopher Lee and Robin Hardy; Restoration Comparison; Trailer.
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2017
What a beautiful edition, from one of the best english movies ever!!! I'm hearing the cd that comes in this edition, and it's...very pagan. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2017
Classic horror film from a bygone era. Christopher Lee and Edward Woodward on excellent form. A must watch for those Hammer House of Horror fans out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2017
brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2016
Yet another all time favourite. Great entertainment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2017
amazing old movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2015
Brilliant. Just what I wanted. Excellent service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2017
Happy happy happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2015
Nice and simple wooden box outside (perfect choice for such a movie) but DVD in a simple jewel case box and plastic inside (disapointing).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)