Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
17
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 August 2010
If you're a retro TV fan this is a must.

Shot at Granada in the seventies the producers have recreated the interior of a Working Men's Club and filled it with an audience of publicans. Add to that some of the biggest clubland names of the era (many of whom went on to be household names) and you've about got it.

They're all here... From the lesser known clubland acts to Roy Orbison, Matt Monroe and the Superstars... It's Seventies TV heaven. There's comedy, music, magic, speciality acts... Have a look at Series 1 too!

However... If you prefer your TV like the X Factor or think that Britain's Got Talent is what variety is all about then you might do well to leave this one alone.

Let's hope there are more to come from the TV archives
55 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2011
Lovely bit of nostalgia. I was in a band called "Remember This" which was a Rock 'n' Roll band featured on this DVD. Lovely to look back. I can't believe how much hair I had and how thin I was. Those were the days!!
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
I bought all 5 sets of wheeltappers and shunters club for my disabled dad. He is 80 years old and absolutely loves the set. Brings back so many memories of his club land days and his era. You don't see that anywhere anymore. The club acts vary from really good to horribly bad but the mixture and atmosphere of the clubs are a great reminder for my Dad. Pity there aren't any more.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2011
I just bought this volume and checked it to see who the guests were as the sleeve does not list them all, haven't got past disc 1 yet but was delighted to see and hear Susan Maughan singing two songs - she was great and it makes me wonder why we never see or hear her anymore.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2011
Excellent viewing for those who watched the Wheeltappers when it was aired in the 70;s. Memories, clubland acts, and the uncomparable Colin Crompton & Bernard Manning.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2012
Arrived as stated in good condition and well packed.
Bought as a present for a person of a certain age that remembers this being shown on television.
I'm sure it bought back memories of the time, well received,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2010
This item was of good value and brougt back many memories of a good television programme of the past
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2011
I've been waiting for some time to see these shows released on DVD. They are very entertaining and each show is reasonably short in length (so you don't have to comit a couple of hours or so to view!) Some surprisingly well-known personalities appear as guests - as well as some who were well-known and who are no longer with us or who seem to have disappeared into oblivion!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2011
If you loved this the first time around on TV, then you will love seeing it again. Brought back memories for me of younger days watching it with my parents.

Fantastic viewing, and maybe even some younger folk will find it entertaining. There's none of this sort of stuff on TV anymore, which I find very sad.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2010
Been waiting to see this for ages after thoroughly enjoying the first series. Some of the acts are not so good, some are excellent. Quite a few very well known celebrities of the era too.

It's like going back in time for a while! Excellent retro entertainment. well recommended. Hope there's more to come.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)