Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
21
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 9 February 2008
Dick King Smith has a reputation for good books about animals, and although the Water Horse is a fantastical creature, the story is richly realistic in tone. In this well written short paperback for confident readers, this is the story of the Loch Ness monster from its hatching fom a giant Mermaid's purse and through it's early life with two children and Grandad Grumble. They care for the friendly little monster as it grows from a kitten-sized creature with a face resembling a horse into a considerably bigger beastie which needs a secret midnight transfer to an appropriate loch.
It is a simple story yet both exciting and moving enough to engage and enthrall 5-9s, with a couple of dozen black and white illustrations to spark their imaginations. Now my children can't wait to see the film......
If you enjoyed the natural history and down-to-earth feel of this book, you might also like to try the shorter Morpurgo titles for the same age group e.g. The Dancing Bear and Tom's Sausage Lion.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2012
"The Water Horse" by Dick King Smith has captured the imagination of my 8 year old. The only drawback is he's now pestering us to go to see "Nessie"! He has looked up lots of info on line about alleged sightings the Lock Ness Monster. Would thoroughly recommend this book to be read to your child or independent reading
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2010
Waterhorse

The waterhorse is a adventure by dick king-smith who likes animals and who likes writs books for children.

kistie and he her brother Angues find a egg.The next day it hatches in the shed.The Waterhorse and Angues has lots of adventures on the water.

I like the Waterhorse jumps on the het ,the het is attached to a horse. The house fell on catapault a explod and dost of men in the water.

I recommend this book to year 6. In conclusion i give this book 10/10 because its interesting for children.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2011
My 8 year old son loves this book! We read it together and he's able to read it by himself too. Different than the film though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
Purchased for my young niece as she is an avid reader. She was delighted by the book and really enjoyed reading it. Delivery was very quick, would highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
Excellent condition and value for money despite being bought second hand. Bought as part of my daughters reading list at school, she really enjoyed the story!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
Lovely film, suitable for all ages, get the tissues out, makes you look at Loch Ness again and wonder..... good family film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
My son and I enjoyed this book very much. Magical and lovely to read. A lovely book to keep in your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2016
Story is very different to the film so read this book first! Lovely story, more heart-warming than the film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2015
A lovely story, my daughter wanted this book for a long time and was so happy to own a copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse