Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
16
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£28.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 August 2015
Stunning film. Saw it when the bbc raised the ban, but viewing it again made me shiver. In English and good quality, don't worry about the French origins.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Brilliant. I am especially happy the film Culloden. Learnt a lot. They only used local people and 1 cannon to film it. Thank you.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
excellent
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2016
This was the video that showed the futility of Britain's Civil Defense programme - not long after,every unit in the country closed down.

An eye opener!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
Don't worry, despite the cover this does have an English soundtrack option. The War Game, which I bought it for, is just as chilling in its 3/4 of an hour as I remember it. I few up in those those times, when we had nuked-up Vulcan bombers sitting on runways twenty four hours a day (and in the air a fair proportion) to deal with the Communist threat. We all put it to the back of our minds, and got on with the swinging sixties, Beatlemania, winning the World Cup, men on the moon, glam rock and the miner's strikes.

A must see for everyone, particularly how both in this and the later 'Threads' the conflict originates with troubles in the Middle East....

Looking forward to watching Culloden sometime.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
Its a very interesting, thought provoking film, which I've wanted to see since it was made, but it was not shown because it was controversial. I would recommend it to anyone who was in doubt about nuclear war.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
First saw this at University via a Professor who was interested in nuclear war as he had worked for US defence before moving to Australia. Recorded it when it was finally shown on television, not a very good copy. Just happened accross the video and thought maybe it had been released on DVD. It is nice to finally have a good copy, harrowing though it is.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2007
A R1 bargain featuring two of the greatest "documentary" films ever made from a 28 year old who was ahead of his time.
Utilising the docu-drama technique prevalent today,Watkins made Culloden(1964)a biting critique of the last battle fought on British soil based on John Prebble's classic book.The treatment is dazzling,historical balance and judgement seem well presented and the battle scenes for a low budget enterprise are well done and stylishly contemporary.
War Game(1965)notoriously banned for over 20 years after the Labour Government of the time suppressed it as being against the public interest with the aid of its producers- the spineless BBC.That said, I found it mesmerising and chilling in equal measure over 40 years later so god knows what the population of the day in the grip of the cold war would of made of seeing the probable fallout from a nuclear attack in their living room.
In 49 minutes,Watkins achieves more than dramas such as Threads and The Day After to name but two by detailing established facts and govt planning. By holding them up to the mirror of public scrutiny we find them fatally flawed- were the public really going to believe that hiding under a table would reduce their exposure to radiation.
Vital and brilliant work from a true genius who never recovered from the War Game debacle.A shame because Broomfield, Moore et al are not in his league.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2012
The Bomb was a drama documentary on what to expect and how to prepare for a nuclear bomb blast in the UK. It was graphic and clearly exposed the terrible effects of a nuclear explosion. I lived through this period of the '60s in the UK and it brought back memories of the worries we had then of the nuclear threat from the USSR.
Culloden was a unique approach to revealing the last battle on British soil. It was an interview technique with the combatants. Who they were and why they were there. They told their own story. A tragedy unfolded before you. The last Highland Charge was an apt description. Incompetant Jacobite leadership led to the final demise of the 1745 uprising. The butchery of the Government troops after the battle was inexcusable. Such is warfare.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
I'd been looking for a reasonably priced copy of the Culloden DVD for years. As soon as I saw this one advertised, I simply had to get it. The DVD arrived in the north of Scotland within three days of being ordered - a first class service! It was a real bonus having The War Game included with it. Though their titles on the DVD box are written in French, the DVD's have the choice of English or French languages.

I shall be showing the DVD's to numerous people, especially the Culloden one, as it graphically shows how the Battle of Culloden was lost. This was due to it being held in the wrong terrain for a Highland charge, bad leadership, a weakened and exhausted 'part-time' Jacobite army, which was pitted against overwhelming odds on the day. The Jacobites were greatly outnumbered and had to fight against a well drilled professional Hanovarian army, that was well fed and rested. The Jacobites fought with inferior firelocks, pistols, broadswords, knives and Lochaber axes. In stark contrast, the professional 'Government' troops were fully kitted out with the latest armaments of the day. They had batteries of cannon, that used round shot and grapeshot to tear holes in the Jacobite ranks. Their superior musquetry also outflanked the Jacobites. When the Jacobites finally broke ranks and charged, they were bogged down and the government cavalry literally ripped them into pieces. It was a bloodbath.

The Culloden DVD also highlights the infamous atrocities carried out by the Hanovarian troops after the battle. Not only were the wounded Jacobites cruelly slaughtered on the field, their homes throughout the Highlands were ransacked and burnt, their women were raped and then killed, along with their children. Entire communities were wiped out in a sickening fashion. Nowadays the actions of the Hanovarian Government troops would be considered as war crimes and the United Nations would seek vengeance.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)