Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 February 2014
I hadn't realised when I ordered the book that this was a reproduction of the 'original' edition - now out of print and this one is poor in comparison with the original which I have seen. Poor photos, cheap printing – the title doesn’t even line up on the spine! The publisher “Bold Strummer” has done this before – producing a shoddy Gibson Guitar reprint. I’ll do my homework more thoroughly next time.
Caveat Emptor.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2012
Not quite a bible sized (which incidentally does exist) type book in terms of pages and weight but is more than satisfactory to explain how this Brit company started from nothing and became very big with its AC30TopBoost model.

Vox started with an AC15, then to an AC30, then to AC30+variants, then to AC50, AC100/120s, Venue and beyond.

Printed in the uSA in 1993 it mentions all the important Brit and USAican groups from 1958-93 that bought into the Vox sound from Shadows; Beatles; Stones; etc, Queen; U2; the Jam; the Smiths.

If all you just want is a good overview type book then this book should suffice with 168+ of (near) A4 sized pages of text and pictures.

Includes some advertising posters and details of various Vox instruments as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
Despite being rather too heavily directed at a US market it does have some good information, but is missing so very much from the UK.

The lack of service procedures, internal photos, parts lists, circuit diagrams etc makes it nothing more than a reprinted sales brochure in many way.

It could have been oh so much better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
Agree generally with the other two comments. Overall print quality is acceptable - just. Great information, but is doesn't mention the very early Vox guitars with the curved headstock, one of which I have in my loft.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
An interesting read but vastly overpriced, as this is a poor quality monochrome reproduction of the original.This should be made clear in the sales text and should be priced accordingly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
NOT AT ALL TECHNICAL FOR THE ELECTRONICS EXPERTS A VERY POOR PHOTCOPY FORMAT NOT SHOWING MUCH DETAIL I WOULD NOT BUY IT AGAIN MOST OF THE INFORMATION HAS BEEN TAKEN FROM THE INTERNET
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2010
I would certainly recommend this book to anyone interested in Vox amps and musical instruments. The full history of the company in its many manifestations is covered, as well as information on the various amp, guitar and keyboard models produced, along with their better known users. I am personally interested in the JMI Vox AC30 amplifiers and wanted to learn more about them and especially how to recognise and date the various incarnations floating around out there. After all, you would't want to inadvertently buy one of the American built versions of this great British amp, now would you?

I hadn't realised when I ordered the book that the 'original' edition was now out of print and this one looks like a good quality copy. This point will be of interest to collectors, but less so to people like me who was more interested in the content. It is the only reason I deducted one star.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2017
All great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)