Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
80
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£24.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 February 2017
Very interesting, kept me glued to my seat.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
Excellent drama
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2017
No issues with the quality of the discs but the packaging smelt of cigarette smoke and was a bit tatty unfortunately.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
Loved it first time around
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2009
The Vice - The Complete Series
The Vice: The Complete Series (repackaged)
As a major fan of Ken Stott works in both Rebus and Messiah, i was told about this 10 disc box set featuring the full 5 series of The Vice - i watched with total interest.

This is a well written and acted hard hitting drama series, Ken Stott is without a shadow of a doubt one of Britains finest actors and i think very underated - should be a star in America by now, really with his performance he is The Vice, a good supporting cast in the first couple of Series and first rate storylines throughout all the series up till when Ken Stott leaves in the first story of the 5th series ( this is without a shadow of a doubt the finest story in the box set ) , unfortunately when Ken Stott leaves the stories do seem to suffer as you are waiting for Ken to appear, however Tim Piggot-Smith seems to keep the stories alive as a bent copper now in charge of The Vice as Frank Vickers, ( seen in some of the early episodes of the show as Ken Stotts enemy from the past ) i found it quite confusing in some ways as the rest of the team knew him to be bent but still worked with him giving him privelleged information - never mind.
Anyway if you love Ken Stott and like gritty well made drama then this is a must, also if you are having withdrawal symptoms waiting for Ken Stotts Rebus to come back on why not buy The Debt Collector starring Ken Stott and Billy Connolly, once again Ken plays a copper but i believe if thats what you do best ( which he does ) then why stop.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
Made at the height of the Blair administration - come back, Tony, all is forgiven - The Vice was a drama following the lives of The Vice squad. Ken Stott excelled as the boss, while Caroline Catz oozed sex appeal. Modern without becoming silly; The Vice took TV Drama to new heights, or lows (whatever, your preference); in the 00's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
Not yet watched this ltem but added to my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
. . . Yes, difficult to believe ITV produced this series, as it's a masterpiece of British television.
Made during the dying days of ITV's hold on quality television drama, this dark and compelling series feels more like cinema than television.
The difficult and controversial subject matter that this series portrays so brilliantly would not make it onto our television screens in 2013. [ Parliament, and the Americans have seen to that, sadly.]
Shot with vivid in-your-face authenticity, it is immediately evident that the production team went to great lengths in doing their research; so much so that it's difficult to be sure where they actually shot certain scenes in the 3rd and 4th episodes , this intelligent, sensitive and perceptive series portrays the reality of its subject matter with great directness and honesty.
Great moody lighting and photography, very film-like, and a real sense of place - indeed, at times the combination of location, mis-en-scene and score reach a real level of profundity, helped enormously by Ken Stott's huge prescence, great actor that he is. He is helped by a scattering of impressive British performers in supporting roles [ the magnetic Marc Warren in particular, as the vulnerable Dougie] - and what a brave way to exit Stott from the series...
Want to see the marvellous, atmospheric and seedy Soho before it became all Disney-fied, and the gays moved in? Clock this.
How did they do it?
A television masterwork.
Get it before it goes out of print.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2017
The show is a crime. Good for insomnia.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
I found the plots all too depresing and gave up after watching two episodes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)