Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
313
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 May 2017
loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2017
loved it: exciting and suspenseful, grisly without being grotty, it has three great characters, damon (the best), bonnie and elena and it's choc full of romance. what more for an evening's entertainment!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2016
This season is absolutely perfect!
It really got me from the first episode and I've watched all the seasons.Just amazing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2011
The VD DVD SEASON 1 is excellent. I do recommend it, I just can't wait for Season2.

I live in France, and just now we are watching the 15th episode of the show on Channel 1 so the possibility to buy the complete season was a good opportunity. I can watch it with the English subtitles, this way I improve my English and my children also gain a lot from the possibility to view the programme in English.

I am desperately waiting for next season, I want to know what happens to Elena !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2010
But where is the information on the DVD extras? The amazon.com Vampire Diaries page has promised features which include

Into Mystic Falls: Bringing Vampire Lore and the High School Experience from Page to Screen
When Vampires Don't Suck!: The Popularity of Vampires and the Fans Who Love Them
The Vampire Diaries: A New Breed of Vampires -- Casting the Series
The Vampire Diaries: Vampires 101 - The Rules of the Vampire
Creators/Director pilot commentary
Unaired scenes
The Vampire Diaries: A Darker Truth Webisodes
Second Bite: gag reel
Downloadable Audiobook of the Bestselling Novel The Vampire Diaries: The Awakening by L.J. Smith

It would be nice if amazon.co.uk could at least include info on whether or not we get any of the extra content, rather than leaving us wondering. Should we assume that no mention of them means that UK buyers get ripped off again?
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2017
I love vampire diaries
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2016
Excellent product, quick delivery packaging excellent A*
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
I am 40 years old and I enjoyed every episode of this first season of The Vampire Diaries. I chose this over True Blood because I read that there was a lot of sex in True Blood which I'm not interested in. The Vampire Diaries has high production values, beautiful people, and an interesting and engaging plot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Mystic Falls - a small American township about to celebrate its 150th anniversary - unaware a horrendous episode in its history will come back to haunt....

Do not be misled by the start. At school Elena is fascinated by handsome new arrival Stefan - unaware he is a vampire. We have NOT strayed into the "Twilight" zone. Everything is soon to branch off into quite different directions. There are no werewolves here, just a witch or two - not to mention crows which make their presence felt.

Pivotal are vampire brothers Stefan and Damon, feuding since 1864 - Damon pursuing Stefan wherever he goes (sometimes it takes a decade or so to catch up), promising to inflict "an eternity of misery". Why the aggro? It began with shared passion for Katherine. Now there is Elena, a Katherine lookalike.

The series works because it is well written and acted, characters not one dimensional but developing in intriguing ways - the brothers especially. At first it seems simple enough: Stefan = good; Damon = bad. The truth is more complicated, both for them and for quite a few Mystic Falls inhabitants.

Handsomely packaged. Would that other boxed sets came with such a profusely illustrated booklet and helpful cast list! 22 episodes. Bonuses include a commentary on the pilot, bloopers and interesting background features: how and why the television version differs from the books; cast auditions; changes in the lore concerning vampires (garlic liked, holy water no problem, rings worn as protection against sunlight).

At times a little slow paced (but none the worse for it). A satisfyingly high body count for those who crave excitement and gore. A dramatic climax with cliffhangers further to whet the appetite. A major plus is charismatic Ian Somerhalder as entertainingly evil Damon (he gradually developing some nicer aspects). Addictive and enjoyable. Recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2010
Vampire Diaries is based around Elena Gilbert and her relationship with Stefan and Damon Salvatore. Two brothers. Both vampires. It's set in Mystic Falls, a mysterious place steeped in history. Vampire Diaries was originally a book series written by L.J. Smith -- although it's not necessary to have read them to enjoy the show. For the record this show isn't like Twilight. In fact, Vampire Diaries actively rags on it and attempts to distance itself from it very early on. Vampire Diaries is more adult in tone and would probably appeal more to people who read/watch True Blood or Supernatural than Twilight fans. The first few episodes have a Dawson's Creek feel to them (the showrunner is the guy who created Dawson's Creek!) but Vampire Diaries soon picks up its pace and gradually finds its footing as a successful horror/fantasy melding. The romance is present, but it takes a backseat to the overall arcs of the show.

Going into this show I wasn't expecting very much at all. I thought 'silly name', 'silly tweeny books' and 'ooh Ian Somerhalder! I'm there!' So that was the main draw for me. Upon watching the first three episodes I was surprised that it actually wasn't that bad. It had the odd moment of campiness in the beginning, but as the season progressed the show has proved to me that the writers know exactly what they're doing. Vampire Diaries is rather violent and on the darker side of things; it isn't afraid to kill people off (in the bloodiest way possible); and like Supernatural, the washed-out picture reflects the darker world that exists in Mystic Falls -- the place these characters call home.

The season long arc is played out subtly. With each episode adding another piece to the puzzle that will form the picture of the season -- as the episodes play out you get this slow burn of tension, getting higher and higher. The flashback episodes are fascinating and the only thing I could criticise is that I wish the flashbacks themselves were longer; rather than just mere snapshots of a bygone time. The turbulent relationship between Damon and Stefan is a highlight of the show, with the fascinating layers of their relationship being peeled back over time. The more ordinary secondary characters like Caroline and Matt are lovely to watch and provide a nice contrast to the supernatural characters. Elena is a likeable and grounded protagonist who doubts and questions like any fully rounded person would do. She could have easily ended up as insipid and annoying, but they've instead made her sympathetic and intelligent. I'm also very fond of Elena's little brother Jeremy, their aunt Jenna and the enigmatic new teacher, Alaric.

Stefan is not just the nice brooding good guy vampire who abstains from blood, he has a sense of humour, charisma and a personality all his own. A far cry from the stereotypical types that so pervade the genre. Ian Somerhalder is perfect as the psychotic Damon Salvatore. Damon is the unstable brother; the one who switches on the flip of a coin. He's quite the little hedonist but isn't smug about it. Instead he's manipulative and smart and gets the job done. Somerhalder is intense when the need calls for it and unnervingly light at just the right moments. I was very impressed with the way he played Damon's deep grief in the latter episodes. In the hands of a lesser actor the character would have been a train wreck -- instead he's more Lestat than caricature. Actually, no caricature at all. Just crazy good!
11 Comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse