Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 12 July 2013
This book is an easy to understand translation of The Upanishads and highly recommended if you are doing yoga courses or just want to delve that bit further into Yoga
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2013
This an attractive version of the classic Upanishads and an informative one. The notes and the intoduction are very useful in appreciating these gems of Hindu wisdom.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 October 2017
a classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2014
I remember a time when many texts from the east were more or less inaccessible or in bad translation that made them cryptic. Upanishads are part of mankind's ancient spiritual history. These are coherent translations that can be recited and memorised
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2017
everything is fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2017
Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2017
Wonderful book, I loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2017
This is a hard book to review. For a Western audience it's like reviewing stories from the Bible.

I've taken an intereist in Indian history and philosophy and I felt that this was an important book to read.

The strengths of this translation are the main introduction, the introduction to each Upanishad, the conclusion chapter and the detailed end notes.

This is not a complete collection of the Upanishads and the ones that are included are mostly abridged.

The actual Upanishads are what you make of them. I personally feel that they are simply numerous ways of saying things that are very very similar and therefore reading them back to back can become a little tiring.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2016
I wish this book was part of the curriculum in modern education. It's simplicity in brilliance and power in knowledge is astounding. A must read for anyone in search for 'the meaning of life'. In a world where religion and politics are losing their way, we need to find our faith in spirituality, our unity in diversity, our respect of everything and everyone around us, and most importantly our selves in a broader more tolerant context of reality.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)