Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
43
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2017
great western good performance from audie murphy
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2017
Great film. All actors are good. Story is good. Audrey Hepburn is brilliant x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
Very pleased thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2009
This is a classic John Huston 1960 psychological Western giving Audie Murphy one of his best roles since The Red Badge of Courage also directed by Huston. A good strong cast,Lancaster,Hepburn ,in an unusual role for her,Bickford,Wiseman,Saxon,Salmi,the young Doug McClure and Lilian Gish
play out a story of bigotry and racial tension on the Texas Panhandle. Prejudice provokes conflict amongst the family and the nieghbours with Hepburn branded as half indian. Murphy especially in the key role of the brother torn between his hatred of Indians and his love for his foster sister is excellent. Strong support from Burt Lancaster as you would expect make this a worthwhile film to watch again and again.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2015
Unusual Western made at a time when Westerns were starting to fail at the US box office, and the Scott,Murphy band of western heroes were on their way out -the dozens of westerns on ABC,NBC,CBS et al did the cinema efforts no favours .

Unpredictable ( no spoilers from me ! )

Burt Lancaster seems rather over-earnest - with films like The Swimmer and Go tell the Spartans his best roles were in the future and Audie Murphy is out of his depth.

A brave role for Audrey Hepburn to take on

Slow start and too many similarities to the Searchers,but a sound addition to the genre
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 January 2011
Which is a shame because after an admittedly slow laborious first third, the film kicks on from the moment the Kiowa Indian's turn up asking for the return of their kin. The film is gorgeous to look at (Franz Planer shooting out of Durango, Mexico) and benefits from some sterling performances from those involved. Big bad Burt Lancaster broods as the big brother, and it was wonderful to see Audrey Hepburn playing a down to earth character, no glam and glitter here; in fact it was kind of special watching her with rifle in hands firing away. The ending took me a little by surprise {but in a good way}, and I was fully satisfied that I had just watched an involving and entertaining genre piece. If Huston did indeed consider this one of his worse films then I look forward to catching many more of his misfires. 7/10
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2016
It's hard not to like Unforgiven. It has an interesting plot and the movie should be ranked higher by critics. In spite of the fact that the director John Huston himself has stated that the movie did not fulfill his expectations you cannot deny that the cast is excellent: Audrey Hepburn in her only western, but also Burt Lancaster and especially Joseph Wiseman as Abe Kelsey "the ghost rider". The film is also very beautifully shot in glorious technicolor in Durango, Mexico. The story is also very interesting and becomes more and more interesting the longer you watch the film. I will not reveal the story here but the film is highly recommended. Don't miss the chance to see a most underrated western.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2008
I can't understand people who write reviews like the previous reviewer, he is nitpicking. He is obviously a professional critic, only those people write such rubbish.
This film is one of the best westerns made, it is a superior movie to the one eastwood made with the same title. The acting is superb, what can you expect, when you have such an all star pedigree cast.
If you love westerns and want a good film to pass the evening, when there is nothing interesting on the box. Put on this film, you won't be disappointed.
22 Comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Firstly I would like to make it clear that I tend to agree with the comments made by "Little Raven", not just because he is a native American, although this adds considerable weight to his comments, but because he often hits the nail on the head. To give a balanced review often means being honest, and that can upset some peoples sensitivities. Well so be it! That is a risk I am willing to run to tell it truthfully as I see it. But hopefully I will try to justify my comments and also highlights the films positives.

In the film Audrey Hepburn plays a full blood Kiowa Indian, who was taken in by a white mother as a baby following a massacre, unbeknown to her three white brothers and all her neighbours. But there is one who does know the truth, who returns to upset the apple cart. Old hostilities are rekindled and racism raises its ugly face. Violence ensues in which family loyalties are tested and old friends are lost. Meanwhile the Kiowa come back to reclaim one of their own. We head to an action filled finale.

The film was directed by the legendary John Huston who described it as perhaps his least satisfying film. The film was beset with problems. Production was halted for seven months when Hepburn fell off her horse and sustained a serious back injury. Huston also fought an ongoing battle with Rick Height and his company who were financing the film. They wanted a more commercial, less controversial film, whilst Huston wanted to make a strong statement about racism in the USA. The result was something that fell uncomfortably in between. Hepburn is indeed the most Anglo Saxon looking full blood native American I have ever seen in a film. John Saxon, no pun intended, who specialised in such roles together with Mexican's at least made the effort, as did Elvis Presley as a half blood Kiowa in "Flaming Star". Some make up may have alleviated this piece of miscasting. Hepburn was also uncomfortable in her role, which was certainly one of her more forgettable ones. It was like she was going through the motions after her fall! I also found the ending over melodramatic and the Indians seemed to have some sort of death wish. Dimitri Tiomkin's lauded score was also not I felt in harmony with the sombre mood of the film. His previous score for "The Alamo"(60) was much better.

On the positives the film does contain some strong scenes and good location filming. There is a particularly powerful hanging scene and an excellent chase scene as Little Raven pointed out. I was pleased to hear that old west saying "There's never a horse not bin rode, nor a man not been throwed". It was also nice to see those old screen legends Charles Bickford and Lillian Gish providing strong support. Burt Lancaster is good in his role as the elder brother, and Audie Murphy never better as his racist brother Cash. He was in the slightly contrived situation of the racist bigot who had unknowingly had a full blood Indian as a sister. Huston had used Murphy before in his debut film "The Red Badge of Courage", and remembered him when his career was going through the doldrums. A youthful looking Doug McLure is also good as the younger brother. Remember him as Trampas from the TV series "The Virginian"! The film bears strong similarities to that great film "The Searchers"(56), which is no surprise as it was based on a book by the same fine author Alan LeMay. In that film white men pursue Indians who have captured a white girl, and in this film, in a complete reversal, the Indians pursue an Indian girl taken by whites.

Unfortunately, the film despite having many good things going for it, has to ultimately be considered a failure. It simply has too many fault lines. It is a pity that Huston was unable to fulfil his vision for the film. It could have been a really powerful film that had something truly profound to say about racism in the USA at the time. At the end of the day it has to be considered one of Huston's lesser films, although as is often the case, matters were somewhat out of his hands.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)