Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
38
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 October 2008
This is an excellent book, which consists of 172 bridge hands played, in which a mistake was made in each. The author illustrates what did happen, and what should have happened (had the mistake not been made).
He commences by explaining the bidding - very standard ACOL with no complicated conventions (just the basic ones). Then he goes on to the hands.
The hands are nicely divided into three sections (by where the mistake was made). In the first section he covers mistakes in bidding. In the second section he covers mistakes in declarer play, and in the third he covers mistakes in defensive play.
Usually, in sections 2 and 3, the mistake is the difference between the contract making, and not making.
The play is explained with each hand. Perhaps the author could make things a bit clearer there, especially where the mistake is in the bidding.
My other issue with the book (I'm knit-picking now!) is that there is the odd hand played in 5-clubs, which should be played in 3NT. But that does not detract from the point of the hand, and as I said ealier the bidding is kept simple.
Overall very impressed, so I think I'll give Robson's book on "Bridge Secrets" a read.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
This is a compact bridge advice book that will probably make many of your other books redundant .............. I wish I had found it 10 years ago when I first discovered this challenging and enjoyable game.

I feel it is mainly for the slightly more experienced Beginner/Intermediate player and its the sort of book that you can ' dip' into at regular intervals and really improve your game play.
Well illustrated,with clear examples of 'does' and 'don'ts'.
Andrew Robson is a talented teacher who imparts his knowledge in straightforward and sometimes amusing ways.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2009
An excellent book for those Bridge Players who are learning the game or improving their bidding, declarer play and defence. It is not suitable for seasoned players or those playing at reasonably high level. It would be most useful for those who are involved in teaching bridge and would give an excellent platform and structure for lessons with extensive examples of many practical occurances in the greatest card game of them all.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2009
Being a very experienced and gifted teacher, Andrew Robson has an excellent understanding of the mistakes which are regularly made by intermediate bridge players, and he provides very clear advice on how to improve your play by avoiding these mistakes. All the advice fits into a very clear and logical framework. Each one-page lesson contains a clearly stated Tip, and a deal which illustrates how the Tip works in practice. By the time you finish working your way through the book, you will be a much better player. Robson's cheerful and friendly approach makes the process very enjoyable.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2009
The perfect book just to pick up and keep reminding the beginner and intermediate of all those mistakes that we so often make
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2009
Before buying I didn't realise the book focussed on four card majors; it would have been useful for this info to be on the sleeve.

Having said that I've enjoyed dipping into the book, which is well written , easy to understand and arrived in excellent condition
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
After original going missing (5 weeks) in post to Ireland. Replacement was dispatched promptly on request, and arrived in three days,
.Excellent customer service, delivery(replacement) and also book was as described and of very good quality.All in all World of Books have to be rated as exceptional!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2010
I like the layout of the book which is very easy to dip in and out of. Covers a wide range of situations and presents them as useful easy to remember tips. Has helped me brush up on my game. My only negative comment would be that it does not seem to concentrate so much on duplicate scoring and the author seems keener on getting you to bid minors than NTs. But overall a very useful book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
This book is very useful in more than one way. It has been designed so that you can read the hint and then see how it works in play. You do have to be a bit disciplined about studying the diagrams but they are not overly complicated. I particularly liked the summaries at the bottom of the page. You can refresh your memory by flicking through these at a later date.

I think I might have struggled if I had been an absolute bridge beginner but as a refresher or a course to bring you up to a competent level it is very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2011
This is an excellently-presented collection of bridge situations which confront all players and which require thought and care to produce good results. It is simple to follow and can be absorbed at one's own pace and on a selective basis. The price of the book is well below it's original price and is excellent value. Andrew Robson is recognized as a top player and teacher of bridge.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)