Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2012
This is probably my most favorite book ever! This simple and profound yoga program in the tradition of the Dalai Lama can change your life. It works on many levels at the same time. It can give you back your waist - and help you open your heart and change your perspective at the same time. It has a beautiful, simple description of the way karma works. I highly, highly recommend this book - and doing the yoga!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2005
This is a fantastic book by two fantastic teachers. To get this kind of teaching from the direct lineage of the Dalai Lamas of Tibet is truly rare. This book explains not only how yoga works but why. It has a full yoga workout that you can use to build up a daily practice and is explained step by step with good quality photos.

Geshe Michael Roach and Christie MacNally have both completed a 3 year silent meditation and yoga retreat (very rare in this modern world), have studied with both Buddhism and Yoga's most respected teachers, and are renowned teachers themselves. I can't say enough about how highly qualified these teachers are, they have translated dozens of ancient Tibetan and Sanskrit texts, and developed dozens of authentic courses based upon these texts to make an authentic study of these ancient teachings possible for English speaking students here in the west.

If you want authentic teachings that are easy to understand and follow then buy this book now and get started.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2010
This wonderful book offers a peak into yoga in the Tibetan Buddhist Lineage of the Dalai Lamas. Kept safe in Tibet since about 1000 ad and used only as a very high practice for the elite of the monastic community. These practices differ in presentation to the more common Indian schools that are popular in the west as they emphasise work from the inside out. That is placing the mind on compassion to generate the open heart, whilst working from the outside with the asana; in all a potent mix to acheive the goals of Yoga.

A great book

As Warren says above, i cant speak highly enough of Geshe Michael Roach and Christie McNally and the contribution they make to our planet. They work tirelessly traveling to bring much needed wisdom of the east delivered in a way that makes sense to the western mind. I have no doubt that these teachers have experienced the highest results of these practices therefore qualifying their commentary.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2009
The book offers great guidance in how to implement a daily practice that is neither overwelming in complexity nor too time consuming to execute. Simple yet advanced philosophy with explanations that does not need for the student to have great knowledge on the subject. The book has made my days:-)
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
Don't waste you money. Controversial writer that lacks proper lineage and credibility. I wish I had known this before I bought it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2015
Lovely book, enchanting and engaging style of writing. Haven't got further than the first practise yet but will treasure this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
Very good book, well written and informative a must for yoga lovers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
While there are a decent range of yoga stretches and positions available this also involves a lot of other stuff like vsualisation, focussing on loving people etc. If you're just in it to get more bendy then this may be a bit much.
Also, re previous reviews about the authors' credentials, it may be worthwhile reading up about them online before getting too excited about their 3 year silent retreat. A lot of funny stuff has gone on.
33 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2016
A must have yoga book for all yogis and teachers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2012
I have often wondered about the various types of Yoga, and their roots and I found this little book both helpful as well as inspirational. Nothing too heavy to take on board and a good starter for more reading on the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)