Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
42
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 December 2012
An average account of The Third Reich which at times got a little bogged down with exact date and time specifications as well as the tactical elements of World War Two on both fronts. If this isn't your interest then this book probably isn't for you.

That said though, it's still readable and for the price you can't have too many complaints
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2016
sobe fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2011
5/5. The book details the ins and outs of Hitler's rise to power and his rebuilding of the economic structure in Germany and the rearmament in Germany, and how Hitler went about setting the pretext for war in Europe. The book goes into some depth on Hitler's early years in politics and his joining of the DAP which later became the NSDAP, and how a young Corporal from WWI became the leader of a radical movement that ultimately came to power and changed European history, and indeed world history forever. The book gives details on various invasions and battles and much more. From the Nuremberg Laws to the Four Year Plan, the Olympics and the Anglo-German agreement and the German-Soviet Non-Aggression Pact, all through to the Final Solution and Operation Reinhard, and the dozens of suicides by German officers. The book details it all, and ends with a mention of neo-Nazism as a stark reminder of the destruction caused by such groups. The book is accompanied by many pictures and some are not for the weak stomached as they show burning bodies or a dead officer hanging from a lamp post, but they show the reality of war in all its crudeness.
11 Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
I have bought many books about WW2 and the whole NAZI period. This is a worthy addition. Very readable and is a new perspective on how the Nazis came to power and used that power.
It is particularly good on the way Hitler's mind worked during the seizure of power.
If you've read a lot about this regime I doubt you will find anything new (don't let that put you off). If you are new to this subject a very good place to start.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2012
Well worth reading as it gives a balanced picture of the years following the Armistice of 1918 and valid reasons as to why Hitler was able to rise to power. Whilst in no way does it condone Hitler's policies it gives a balanced narative of the years culminating in the German unconditional surrender in 1945.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
very interesting book well written covers the whole time frame from stunning victories to final deafeat
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
Great book,fascinating insight into the thankfully short rule of the evil nazi regime. Brilliantly written with clear and sometimes graphic descriptions of events. I would recommend this book to anyone.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2012
If you want to find out more about the Nazi party before and during the war, then look no further than this excellent introductory narrative by Britain's premier historian of the Second World War. Accessible to the general reader, clear and concise, this is further supported by primary sources (both written and pictorial). Then the piece de restistance, a full list of excellent texts recommended for further reading. This is THE starting point for studies into the Third (and hopefully final) Reich.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2012
I hated history at school but as I get older I find I am more and more interested in it and this seemed an interesting subject. I was inspired by a Channel 4 drama that was on some time ago about Hitler's rise and fall and thought this would make a good follow up with more detail.
It's well written and very detailed, sometimes a little too detailed with many names, places and events coming at you throughout but on the whole a fascinating insight into the background of how, why, where and when.
it probably seems a strange subject but it's a piece of recent history that has shaped the world we live in today.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
I have read many books on WW2 and Hitler's Germany but this is by far the best one I have come across. It is full of details but is narrated in such a way that the information is easily followed and absorbed. I have always considered myself quite knowledgeable on the topic but on every page there are new revelations that I was previously unaware of. The whole book is organised in a logical sequence of events that just flow together and give a comprehensive picture of events and the people involved in them. A real masterpiece.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)