Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars

on 12 June 1999
This is the first play of a trilogy by Aeschylus (c. 525-456 B. C.), the other two being lost (Aeschylus wrote over seventy plays of which only seven are extant). It begins the story of the daughters of Danaus. The brothers Aegyptus and Danaus were descendents of Io. Aegyptus had fifty sons and Danaus had fifty daughters and the sons are determined to marry their cousins. The daughters flee to Argos, seeking sanctuary from Pelasgus, King of Argos. The play, which contains very little action, is really serving as a prologue to the other two missing members of the trilogy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)