Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
43
4.4 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2005
I've recently been exploring my faith a lot more - doing the Alpha course and reading faith building materials. I've had several crack at trying to read the bible and always fail pretty early on - the meaning doesn't get through and the text can be hard to stick with. However .... enter the 'Street Bible' - this really got the meaning across to me - had me hooked, interested and genuinely wanting to read more - stuck with it every day and finished it a week or two ago - can see myself coming back to this to read it through again - something I can rarely do with any book. If you want to get a taste of the bible and have struggled like myself with the text itself then this is the book for you. It covers the old and new testaments and although there is a lot of paraphrasing and I dare some skipping over some bits it certainly had a wonderful effect on me.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
For a pensioner, this is a real eye-opener!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2003
Remember that dull, dry book written in the language of several centuries ago that told you about God??
Well, the street bible is a lively, readable, modern paraphrase of that old faithful tome that brings it alive again.
At Spring Harvest week one in Minehead, it sold out twice, and the bookstore there had an extra, special, opening one lunchtime just to sell their third delivery.
Stop reading this review and buy this book. It is the most exciting, enjoyable, ground-breaking version of the bible for ages.
Use this to get the overview of what's going on, then your favourite "traditional" bible for the in-depth study.
It would probably appeal especially to the teen market, owing to its use of street language (but I think it's great - and I'm 37! - young at heart ;-) )
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2003
After reading the street bible i knew that i would be buying more than one copy. It has a great readability and humour but also does not pull any punches on the key issues and statements of Faith. It is highly quoteable and give-away-able! Indeed it does what it says on the cover,makes you want to check out the bible with a big B, to see if it really does say that, and it does.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2004
fantastic book, well written for children and adults alike. All my children aged 9 to 15 enjoyed reading the book and I have read parts of it myself and become engrossed. It is very easy to read, is fun and very laughable in places. Helps children gain an understanding of the bible without having to delve straight into the big book. I would recommend this book to any family trying to find a bible that kids will want to read. It should be a best seller.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2004
This book speaks the bible in a language to inspire, It makes the biblecome to life, you can imagine being in church and the emotions beingplayed out for you rather than the plain documentation of the normalversion. I recommend it to anyone religious or not.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2003
Wow! I first heard about this book at a Christian festival calleed Summer Madness in Belfast. I was fortunate enough to be able to go and see Rob Lacey perform from it and was immediatley hooked. I went and bought a copy that same day and didn't regret it. The Street Bible is a new and exciting translation, using modern lingo, making it easy to understand. The books may have been condensed but rather than missing out on parts of the Bible, you will be able to enjoy your favourite parts in an easy to read fun way, discovering emotional chapters and verses that you may never have thought about before. Where else can you read the gospels as one story with four separate narrators, or Revelation as viewed through a VR Headset? Rob Lacey has made the Bible fun and quirky without taking away God's message. You'll definetely laugh, you'll maybe cry and you'll be recommending The Street Bible to all your friends.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2004
The re-telling of a familiar story in everyday language is compelling. It echoes the street Greek used in the 1st Century., simple, direct and expressive. This freshness gives the story a vibrancy that can be lost in the more litery styles of conventional versions. The language used can be heard in conversations on the street and this gives the book appeal. It is how many people talk to each other today. The publication deserves the widespread acclaim it has already received.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2003
If you ever tried to read your way through the bible and fell asleep this is for you. This is NOT a translation - it's an interpretation in modern "street" language. It's an absolute must for the teenager, youth leader and in fact anyone hoping to get from one end of the other without the aid of matchsticks! Probably the best thing that anyone has done with the bible since it was first written down!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2003
They say the bible is the most-widely published, but least read book, if every copy of the bible was written like this then it'd be the most widely read as well. As someone who's been familiar with a bible throughout my 17 years of life, I can say I have never looked at it in this way before, new things I never really thought about have jumped out and struck me. I've laughed out loud at things I never found funny before, but when you compare it to a "normal" bible, you notice the humour is there too...you just didn;t understand it before! The language is totally up to date - the way the bible was intended to be read...for people who have never been brave enough to pick a bible and trudge through all the thee's and thou's before this is the ideal place to start and learn what Christianity is all about. For those who can't understand bits of the bible, this should help clear up confusion. And for those who have read the bible almost too much (if thats possible!) this fresh interpretation will remind you why you picked it up in the first place.
Be warned it doesn't contain the bible word for word, but its a great starting place which will make you want to read more (like any good book), and Lacey has filled in bits which he hasn't translated, to speed up the story. The first bibles changed the way many people thought, maybe this one could too...
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse