Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
Great film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
good value,fast delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2016
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2010
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Wow - just watched this - really disappointing. From the opening seconds after hitting play this looked low quality, from the way the fonts on the opening credits look, to the visual effects used in the background - it all said "cheap" to me. I couldn't believe it when the credits said this was a 2010 film, the production and effects looked like something from 10-20 years back.

Look, I love Austin from his WWF/WWE days but this is a really poor use of him. The story here is that an agent is involved in an operation to uncover a mole and ends up losing his memory, but actually goes into a state where he makes up who he is, along with a backstory, and then every so often that changes, and he thinks he's someone else. This doesnt really get shown in the film though, Austin just comes across as some dumb confused meathead who can't remember what he did yesterday. There are flashback sequences tat knit together as the film goes on and come together in the end, these are not well done though, it's obvious what the end picture is much too early on - it should click into place all in the final sequence - but it's obvious much too early on and you're just waiting for the film - and Austin's character - to catch up to what you've known for at least half the film. This is a low budget, poorly made film - albeit one with a half-decent story - that Austin would have done well to avoid.

I can't think of anyone to recommend this to, even hardcore Austin fans may not be happy with this. It's like a weak, poor, low-budget Bourne Identity but with Austin as the main character. He doesnt even go properly mental in it and open a can of whoopass on anyone, he just gets a bit action-hero on occasions without that feeling of Stone Cold Steve Austin smashing someone up.

Really sad to say it but this is weak and not worth your money.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Was not expecting this to be a great film, and it lived up to my expectations.

Worth watching if there is nothing at all on TV, its raining, all the house work is done and all your film collection has disappeared apart from this film.

One for rental only or to give as a present for someone you are not too fond of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 March 2011
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Even though I'm a WWE (and Austin fan) I can't say I had high expectations for this one. Austin and his ilk have a habit of making average action movies which usually come with a decent synopsis and trailer. As you think `this one might actually be good' you are inevitably disappointed. It takes a lot these days to make an entertaining action movie- the fact is that we have seen it all before, especially hardened fans who grew up with the classics of the 80s and 90s. It takes something groundbreaking to really catch our imaginations now, a la The Matrix. That's not to say that filmmakers should stop trying- if you have a decent plot, interesting characters, and a talented case then go for it.

The main issue here is that of the aforementioned trilogy of criteria, each one is only partly met. We have the standard `man with amnesia wants answers and revenge' plot (Bourne Trilogy), we have stock characters with little motivation or background, and we have a cast of mostly unknown actors led by a director who is best known commercials. To say there is a lack of substance would show a lack of critical analysis. So from the start we are shooting for average- anything better would be quite an achievement.

Austin can easily hold an audience when in the ring, but on camera, following a script, the problems mount up. He does his best here, but he isn't in the ranks of Arnie, Stallone, etc. The script is merely a series of words with little flourish laid out so that the plot can reach its conclusion. The only thing of interest is the way that the back story is revealed slowly throughout the movie, although it is done with a lack of skill leaving the viewer bemused or bored. The director doesn't show much flair for action here- the fight scenes are few and far between and don't show off Austin's ability, the gun battles etc are by the numbers. That is obviously the most disappointing part here- you have a man who can do things that most performers can't, but you don't give him the opportunity to do anything. Action movies can (and usually do) excel without much of a plot when the action is solid, but this looks like it was released 20 years ago by amateurs on a low budget. And Lieberman uses that horrible slowed down/sped up/blurry technique which I despise, so after the first few minutes I was already annoyed.

It does get better though, if you can let yourself into the movie's world. Austin tries out a few languages, chases and is chased around the country, and eventually comes face to face with the bad guys. Erica Serra stars as Steve's psychologist and does a good job of teaming with Austin in a subpar role, and there are some fine attempts at twists and turns involving the FBI and some of the characters who we meet along the way. Like Austin, we are not meant to know who to trust or much of what has happened in the past. With a bit more skill and clarity this could have been more entertaining. Overall this is one to catch on TV, or if you are a Rattlesnake fan- 3 stars if you are a big Austin fan, 2 if you are an action fan looking for new thrills.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2010
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I will admit immediately that I have no issue with wrestlers as action stars. I enjoy the work of Dwayne `The Rock' Johnson and likes John Cena in `The Marine'. In fact, `Stone Cold' Steve Austin himself does a good job in both `The Condemned' and `The Expendables'. What all the reasonable films that these actors/men of action have in common is a decent script, decent budget and decent director. The WWE Studio are actually pretty good at supporting their films with decent talent. Therefore, the fact that `The Stranger' has no support from a decent studio should immediately ring alarm bells - and it did.

`The Stranger' is poor in almost every aspect. The budget is highly restrictive and trying to make an action film for the cost of a TV show does not work. The lack of money is for all to see with a substandard script, director and acting. The subpar `Bourne' storyline is poorly paced with the half decent action sequences taking an age to turn up in favour of awful dialogue. Director Robert Lieberman does nothing to paint over the cracks using camera shots not seen since the days of `Nash Bridges' and the even earlier `Miami Vice'. Worse still is perhaps the acting. Austin is passable as the dozy lug and so is Erica Cerra as Dr Bishop. However, Adam Beach's turn as the FBI Agent, who may or may not be a friend, is one of the flattest and least menacing performances I have seen. With no pace and no energy the film is a chore to get through. I actually think that Austin is far too good an action star to be in a film like this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2010
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A film starring an ex pro wrestler looking for revenge is never going to be high brow entertainment but this at least tried to build on the character and I felt the film tried to tell a story that unfolded. This was marred though by the spoilers on the DVD box that gave away much of the plot. Steve Austin (not the 6 million dollar man) is a man trying to unlock his mysterious past. The frustating thing is this was not as good as it could have been with a bit more work on continuity and filling some holes in the plot.

Some of the action sequences were generic and lacked real thrills while the supporting cast were a bit cheesy and predictable and there were a lack suprise and inovation in the plot. Steve did not say much thoughout the film but tried to at least provide justification for his actions although throwing an FBI man out of a window did seem a bit harsh! Overall it kept my attention, and was not too long although not sure it warrents the sequal hinted at the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 September 2010
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Having enjoyed some of Steve Austin's films I was looking forward to seeing this, but ultimately felt let down.
The plot premise sounded good, and could have worked but was never really developed enough.
And as for the 'arty' opening sequence, that almost made me give up straight away, too weirdly filmed for it's own good!
But I stuck with it to the end hoping for a decent ending, nope, another let down. By the time the film ended I could not really care less about the outcome.
I hope his future films are better.

So, in summary...
If you are a hardcore Steve Austin fan then you might enjoy this, but otherwise keep your expectations low.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)