Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
34
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£26.99+ Free shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 March 2009
A brilliant series which accomplishes the unique alchemy of combining absolute scientific precision, clarity and perfectly balanced dynamic tempo of the story telling: not to fast so as to obscure the math concepts and not to slow so to induce boredom on behalf of the viewer. This together with thorough explanation of the historical context in which the theories flurished, combined with pitoresque but extremely pertinent annedoctes of the persons behind the science makes this work superb!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2009
These two DVDs are simply marvellous! The story of mathematics presented in a high-quality production with an inspiring Marcus Du Sautoy at the places where it really happened! I have seen the DVDs several times now and they remain fascinating.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2010
Having watched the series on BBC Four a while ago, and being somewhat slow to pick up mathematical concepts, I was pleased to be able to watch it again on DVD. The series is a gentle, if somewhat abstract in places, guide to maths through the ages. For an academic mathematician, Marcus Du Sautoy is quite natural in front of the camera and provides an easy-to-follow overview of important figures and discoveries from the pages of history. The programmes are far from 'dry' & have lighter, wittier moments to liven the subject matter. The graphics used to explain certain ideas are generally useful and entertaining, although some areas are raced through and not really explained in any great detail. For the serious student of the subject I would definitely recommend the book 'The Story of Mathematics' by Anne Rooney, which fills in much of the back story while still being highly accessible to the non-expert. All in all, a very high calibre documentary series well worth watching several times over.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2009
The programme content is what I expected - well delivered and fascinating. Be aware that this DVD is burned rather than pressed so it's possible that it is more prone to misuse (i.e. more delicate) than a pressed one.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2016
He knows what he is talking about but I didn't so I just picked a DVD that was over my head. My fault. If you like stars and planets then miss this book out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2012
Unfortunately, while the subject matter is excellent, the quality of the audio on the DVD leaves a great deal to be desired. Episode one is so bad (really bad clipping on sibilance, probably because they boosted the audio too much) that I couldn't listen to it. As unfortunately I have every good high frequency hearing even at my relatively advanced age I just couldn't listen to it for any length of time. In comparison, episode two to four are not perfect but they are bearable. On line friends who have bought copies of this also say the same about the audio quality. If I hadn't known how to rip and 'repair' the audio to make it listenable and remux it back in with the video stream I would have had to return it as unsuitable.

Note, if your high frequency hearing is below average the poor audio quality might not bother you as I have friends who can't hear the clipping even on Episode 1 or if they can it is at such a low level that it is no problem for them.

So I give it 5 stars for the content and 0 stars for the Audio.

To add ato nd alleviate my criticism of the audio somewhat, at least from the sellers point of view, after reporting the continuing audio problem back to Canny Store, even though the audio quality is something beyond their control, they offered me another OU DVD series, 'The Gene Code' gratis in compensatioon. You can't get much better service than that.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
It has no subtitles
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2009
I loved many of the documentaries that have been broadcast on the BBC over the years so it was particularly refreshing to have such an excellent series on the subject of Mathematics.

Marcus du Sautoy is an engaging presenter who exudes an infectious enthusiasm for his subject as he surveys the history of the subject from its origins in ancient Egypt, Mesopotamia and Greece through to its advancement in China,India and the middle east, and to the european contribution during the renaissance, enlightenment, and the nineteenth and twentieth centuries and up to the present day.

It is beautifully shot in various locations throughout the world, as du Sautoy tells fascinating stories about the lives and ideas of the great mathematicians: Pythagoras, Cantor , Euclid, Newton, Gauss, Hilbert, Godel to name only a few, explaining in simple terms the essence of the mathematical problems they were concerned with.

The package contains four one hour length programs spread over 2 DVDs

As an introduction for those wishing to sample the sheer beauty of mathematics or for an entertaining panoramic view of the history of mathematics this series is simply a delight
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2009
This series was on on BBC around towards the end of 2008. It was absolutely brilliant and indeed the best series I have ever watched. It is filmed at many different locations across the world and tells the story of maths since the beginning of man kind. The man telling the story is an academic but he may well have been an oscar winning star or an artist. He tells the story with the most astonishing clarity. The subject is of course itself fascinating but he has told it like no body else. It does not matter if you are a novice or an acomplished scintist -you will find it equally intersting.
11 Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2009
Great program can't get enough did maths OU course after watching this FOR FUN! Loved it watching this over and over don't tire of it learn't loads. Well worth it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)