Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 14 February 2012
OK, for me this book hit the spot. I didn't know anything about the LRDG and bought the book to find out more. Can't remember the reason why I wanted to find out more, maybe it was the uprising in Libya and the names of the towns involved kicked of something in my mind. Anyhoo.. the book was well researched and well written. I know exactly who the Long Range Desert Group are now, what they did, and why. A British special forces team that operated deep in the Egyptian and Libyan desert during the second world war keeping tabs on Italian and German troop movements and attacking them when necessary. The group formed the basis for the SAS and other specialist military groups that operate today. Well recommended, and deserves to be made into a good film (movie).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2013
It is a very good print of the book. The pictures are nice and the text is an historical accound of the LRDG.
It is based on accounts of different men who served put in historical order.
I found it very interesting and it has details on events only known by name or significance and not so much on detail as to what happened.
It includes the show of ingenuity by these men to face and overcome the difficulties presented to them, either of a mechanical nature or when the enemy was after them.

Really interesting and nice book. A must for anyone interested in WW2 history.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2009
Unlike so many worthy (dull!) academic books written about WWII, this book cuts to the chase. It tells the first hand tales of those who actually served in (and created) the LRDG in a thrilling 'Boys Own' way. Many of these tales are culled from the LRDG's own 'Association' magazine and cover the full 5 yars of the LRDG's life (both in the African deserts and in other locations around the globe). It also covers their time working alongside the newly formed SAS. A great story, well told.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 December 2014
I would like to read more about These men and their adventures. It almost sounds as if they were "playing" yet they were important to the British victory in the Desert. Very recommendable for reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2014
A well researched and put together book. My original interest was in the SAS in the North African Desert, but this book revealed to me the equally daring role of the LRDG.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2014
great reading and was very fast delevery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2013
EXCEPTIONAL STORY. TALES FROM A FORGOTTEN PART OF SECOND WORLD WAR. BRAVERY FROM ALL MEMBERS OF LRDG. NOT TO BE MISSED
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2016
Interesting details telling some of the story. Missing the full account of heroics in Antwerp
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2015
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2003
Mike Morgan's Sting of the Scorpion is an action packed true story of the Long Rang Desert Group who where the forerunners to the SAS. The LRDG raiders were unrivalled in their skill at navigating the North African desert and Mike is able to capture the excitement and the hardships that these men endured. This book is a great read for those interested in the history of the war in the desert, I look forward to any book that Mike Morgan may publish in the future as he seems to get right to the core of his subject.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)