Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now



on 10 August 2017
I love this series of books, read them all as a kid and revisiting them now is great. Read the lot and in order.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 October 2010
This second-outing for Jim DeGriz is another winner for Harry Harrison. you will find it easy to identify with our reluctant hero and Mr Harrison makes it VERY easy to picture every scene in your mind's eye. Clever writing with an easy to follow story line will have you eager to read the next book in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2004
Chronologically the second book in the Jim diGriz (aka the Stainless Steel Rat) saga ‘…gets drafted’ is the story of the Rat’s attempts to get revenge on Captain Zennor who caused the death of his mentor The Bishop. The story of him getting involved in an invasion of another planet (yes it’s a repeat of ‘…Revenge’) which turns out to be Chojecki a pacifist utopia which annoys the generals who don’t get medals for bringing ‘back the troops intact’.
Though this book is in a lot of ways just a rehash of old story lines because you have megalomaniac dictators, an inept military, and a police state (yet again see ‘…Revenge’) against a load of pacifist cyclists who follow the principles laid down by a dysfunctional android it’ worth a read, just.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2014
As the follow up to A Stainless Steel Rat is Born, the story was OK, with its main theme of a hunt for the bad guy that was the main cause of his friend The Bishop's death. It plods along and Jim eventually gets the baddie caught, strangely by the Fleet Navy in the end. Not the best book in the series and one I may dip back into again at some stage in the future, but it did not hold my attention as much as HHs earlier novels in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2015
An enjoyable romp through space. This slots in as the second in the Stainless Steel Rat series and carries on from where a Rat is Born left off although there is enough background info for it to be read as a stand alone novel. Easy going in Harrison's traditional style with a plot that might seem familiar to SSR fans, it is still definitely worth a read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2013
I read this series when they were first published and enjoyed them . This is science fiction of the fifties and still enjoyable definitely five stars. From a fan of the books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2013
I first read the series when I was about 16 and James Bolivar De'Griz quickly became a hero. 20 years on and the adventures are still just as exciting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2013
I've read the series before and really enjoyed all of the books and they are still as good as ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2015
I loved the Deathworld trilogy but I was slightly underwhelmed by the Stainless Steel Rat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2016
Great book, looking forward to more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse