Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 20 November 2014
This is actually a testing narrative, or a series of narratives, particularly the second by Quentin I found, with the continual movement in time frames, but it is without doubt worth the effort to persevere as the book is a piece of creative genius the likes that one seldom has the privilege to read, and relates much to the sentiments of the passage from Macbeth from where the title of the book is taken. It is really best to go with the flow as another reviewer has suggested and appreciate the different narratives from three brothers caught up in one family's fall from grace in the American south with the ever present racial intolerance and the shame of one of the brother's mental incapacity and a sister's promiscuity - made more remarkable by the first narrative being the inward voice/observations of Ben, the brother with mental incapacity and the second narrative by Quentin, whose depression leads to suicide. The third narrative is by the more volatile brother who seeks redress for his lot in the family downfall and the events that unfold when his niece steals his ill begotten savings in the final part that moves from the individual's subjective perspective.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2014
This book is exceptional. It's not an easy read by any means so don't choose it as part of your holiday reading but the effort is definitely worth it.

The book is split up into four parts which get progessively easier to read. They are by four different narrators and four different points of view of what is basically the disintegration of a once wealthy family in the deep south of America circa 1920's.

It's well worth reading this book for Faulkner's prose alone.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2017
I found the book to definitely be a interesting look into how time is perceived, and how Faulkner shows that. It was interesting to see how structure was used. However, it is a slog to get through and has no real grasping features. I don't think it's for general reading,but is more of an experiment into structure and language. Gave up on it about two-thirds of the way through because I couldn't be bothered to continue.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2017
AMAZINGLY MOVING, and the writing style, the rhythms and repetitions in places, is just so immersive. Its an experience as much as a read -- I can think of few books that engaged me so completely. It difficult to pin-point what the effect is, but one feels altered by it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2016
Not for me; I gave the whole stream-of a consciousness thing a go with this novel, and just didn't find the patience to progress much past the first chapter..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 October 2014
An interesting book with some of the most unlikable characters ever. This was not an enjoyable book for that reason, but as a lesson in human cruelty, it is excellent.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2008
I'm not that familiar with American literature of this type,but I found it a compelling read.Although the work needs a short explanation via the introduction to set the reader on the right tracks, once you are aware of the basic timing and structure you shouldn't find it that hard.It is basically a tale of a dysfunctional middle-class southern American household in the 1920's and is a satisfying read.Its characters are vivid and their personal situations are communicated in great style.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2014
It was a schlep to get through but I have to admire Faulkner's ambition in writing this. I will re-read sometime and get more from it hopefully.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2017
Excellent book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2013
although written in the 1920s this is a very modern style novel. Faulkner is a creative and compelling writer, able to conjure up the raw life style of people in the deep south of the U.S.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

As I Lay Dying
£3.99
The Reivers
£2.99

Need customer service? Click here