Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
42
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
37
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 July 2004
Having watched the film, the hurricane, i decided to read the book, since the film only deals mainly with the release of Rubin Carter, i felt it would be a good idea to get a broader background of his life. It was one of the best books i have ever read, the chapters seemed to fly by, and it was a real cliff hanger never knowing when to put the book down and allways eager to read more. The film barely scratches the surface of his background and leaves a lot out of his history, the racial predudice is clearly apparant, and the manners in which the trial was conducted based on the evidence, it was clear to see that he was innnocent from day 1. In summary if you liked the film you will love the book, it deepens into areas which are quickly overlooked in the film, and dewels deeper into Rubens past, a deffinate must.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2003
I'm not really the type of person who really reads autobiographies, but this made no difference. Ever since I saw the movie with Denzel Washington, I have been searching for this book.
Once I began reading it, I found I could not put it down. It is a truly compelling book, with a fantastic view on how blacks were treated only a few decades ago in America. I found myself disgusted with various aspects of how black people were treated by the police, and the way in which the whole trial was twisted to make it seem as if Rubin Carter was the one in the wrong.
The end of the book is one of the best I have ever read, and left me feeling very sad that such a great man was torn away from everything he loved by those who just wanted to persecute black people.
Most certainly a book which will open your eyes.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2003
I found this book to be an eyeopener for the plight of the lives of black American youth of the 1950&60's and the prejudices they faced. As told by the author he became by need a man who relied on his own courage and integrity to survive each passing day from youth detention to ultimately arrest and detention for 3 alleged murders. After being institutionalised for the majority of his life I find it amazing that a person could endure such blatant bigotry and I hope Rubin Carter has finally found peace in a world that has hopefully changed.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2004
On May 26, 1969, the spiralling career of Rubin "Hurricane" Carter the then top contender for the world middleweight boxing crown, came to a shuddering and tragic halt: he and a young man were found guilty of the murder of three white people in a New Jersey bar. The nightmare knew no bounds, as Carter trades his superstar status for a prison number and the concrete walls of some of America's most horrific hellholes.
Originally published as an attempt by Carter to set the record straight and force a new trial, "The 16th Round" is timeless. It is an eye-opening portrait of growing up black in America, a scathing indictment of the prison system Carter grew up in and out of, and a mesmerising recreation of his furious battles in the ring and in the courtroom set against the backdrop of the turbulent sixties. The liveliness of Carter's prose, its power and ironic humour, makes this an eloquent, soul-stirring account off a remarkable life not soon to be forgotten. This autobiography documents the shocking, savage and brilliant indictment of racial injustice and the inhumanity of prison life. The unbelievable story of how Carter finally regained his freedom is told in "Lazarus and the Hurricane", a penguin book and the now major motion picture "The Hurricane" with the delicious Denzel Washington.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2005
AS I read this book it opened up new light of what is said to be wrong and right in the world. Mr. Rubin Carter showed great patience when he wasn't beating the crap out of some dude. I have morals that were totally crushed in this book. I feel that Mr. Carter has shown how strong a man can be in places that seem impossible to get through. The 16th Round brings amazement to my mind. I couldn't stop reading this book(being the first book I've every read completely. If I could do or say anything that would make Mr. Carter understand how well his book has touched others I would but I don't have that much time. Mr. Rubin "Hurricane" Carter will always be in my mind!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2015
I watched the film prior to the book which helped gain an insight beforehand, the book in my opinion is a better portrayal, gripping and I never wanted to put it down - recommended to anyone who loves autobiographies or moving stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2006
Having seen the movie 'the hurricane' i just thought i must buy the book and read exactly what he said. Just reading the first few pages i was truely engrossed in what was being said i felt i could not put the book down. I was awakened to how the life of such an intelligent and tallented man was sharpley taken away from him in such a twisted and horrific way. I felt pure emotions thorughout this book which started with a love for Rubin Carters talents through to hate for the lies of the witnesses and police and sadness at the end as Rubin Carter him self explains the raw emotions he had gone through and how his life was taken away from him and he felt as if he was a dead man who just existed. This book is a terrific read and realy awakens the reader to the horrific american prison and justice service. I recomend this to anyone even if you are not a boxing fan. Truely a great read and full of action.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2011
Review by Matteo: Very good read. This is a book full of injustices and racism. Carter's story is both compelling and chilling. It should never have happened, and that it did demonstrates how much racism is still alive today. The author comes across as bitter in his writing and conveys a sense of anger. I've given it four, not five, stars because there is a lot of swearing in the book. Well worth reading.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2015
As a white, working class man I feel compelled to write a short review on this book.

Forget your bibles and religious readings, one can learn all about inquality and injustice from Rubin Carters story.

The saddest part about it is that human beings can actually behave this way and accept this kind of behaviour

The best part about it is that his story is out there for all to read, and if it can change mindsets then it's done its job.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
Follows the early year of Rubin " Hurricane" Carter. A harrowing account of the treatment of black men in 1960's Patterson New Jersey. Leads up to the triple murder conviction which saw Carter spend much of his adult life in prison after his framing by racist Police officers and the corrupt American justice system.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)