Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
43
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

...though there's little on here for the fans, save for two new songs - "Yellow Halo" and "Melancholy Sky" but nowadays one can of course download these, without bothering with the full release. Indeed, at first sight this compilation may seem a little uninspired, even the cover art is basically just a collage of existing album sleeves. As a previous reviewer has already pointed out, this could have done with a bonus CD or DVD - after all, the group have plenty of remixes and videos to choose from.

Never mind, "The Singles" flows well as an album, in part thanks to its sequencing - based on mood, as opposed to being in chronological order. The CD shows off the sheer breadth of Goldfrapp's (delete as appropriate) coffee table/glam/folk/prog -tronica work. The difference between the "Felt Mountain" singles and the rest is particularly marked. Overall they are, in my opinion, an important electronic act.

The new tracks are both downtempo and, both produced by Flood. They are excellent but no real hint here, I don't think, as to any possible future direction the duo may be considering. The liner notes include full lyrics and production credits which is good to see, as such things are often omitted on "best of" LPs.

Largely this is one for the newcomers or the real saddos (who, me?!) who buy compilations of songs they already own. If you ARE a newcomer and you enjoy this then do buy the source albums as there's much more to Goldfrapp than just the singles.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
Stunning , shimmering electropop with the golden voice of Alison Goldfrapp poured over the top - this is audio heaven.
What a great duo they are - experimental, haunting, thought provoking, electronic funky soul with Alison Goldfrapp's voice sweet honey gliding over the top of the danceable, thumping shimmering electrobeat.
If you like groups like Moloko, Ladytron, New Order, and individual artists like Kate Bush, Tori Amos, and Kylie Minogue you will love them.
Sublime, Haunting and Beautiful.
If I could give it more than five stars I would.
Stunning and Essential, if only all music were as good as this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2012
i have loved goldfrapp from day one and i have all of their cds.
this singles collection is good but it only includes the radio friendly 7" mixes.
this should have been a 5 disc box set to include the best full length remixes and a blu-ray of the sublime videos.
many people have never heard the 15 minute ride a white horse and their brilliant electro disko reinventions.
maybe next time?
The Singles
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
Excellent selection of tracks, mostly brilliant. One point, which has deducted one star, where is Pilots??? A great single and a big hit, could easily have replaced any track and improved an already high standard, shame
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2012
Goldfrapp are one of those bands that most people have heard, but this familiarity has never blossomed into a true commercial awareness. This collection of singles (and two new tracks) is a perfect introduction to their sound.

The glam-rock of T-Rex is a dominant influence that comes to mind in songs like 'Ooh La La', 'Number 1' and 'Strict Machine', except that Goldfrapp's production also incorporates a sleek disco thud and bursts of measured synth (including the euphoric crescendo in 'Number 1'). Exceptions include 'A&E', a great acoustic track that stands out with its yearning simplicity and 'Black Cherry' that bathes in classical strings, a drum-machine tick and longing vocals.

This is a fantastic showcase for the group's pop sensibilities and I heartily recommend it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2012
Simply put fans wont find much new here save for the two new singles.

But what this cd does do is show us the versatility and vibrancy that Goldfrapp have consistently given from ambienmt chill out to thumping post disco and glam rock right down to acoustic melancholy and 80's euphoria there is something for everyone and a reminder that Goldfrapp are much underrated but nothing if not inspired and briliant.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2012
All the songs are excellent.But I think it will be better if it has two CDs or include a DVD.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2012
As someone who regularly makes their own 'Best of Goldfrapp' cd with each successive release I know how difficult it is to choose just twenty or so of their brilliant songs to fit on to a cd, so why is this commercial cd so short? Perhaps instead of limiting it to 'singles' they could have broadened it out a little. This may be a taster for non-fans, rather than a reward for Goldfrapp addicts, but even so it hardly does them justice.

Actually, I'm amending my review slightly after having this cd for several months, and upgrading it from three to four stars. The songs hang together really well, and the two new songs are worth having, particularly (in my opinion) the haunting closing track.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2012
..with apologies to Smokey Robinson. I have no doubt about the quality of the songs on this compilation. I guess it's designed to be an introduction to Goldfrapp, but I thought it worth pointing out that at the moment one can buy the first four albums by Goldfrapp on Amazon for the grand total of £5.04, if you're not bothered about buying used copies. So you'll get far more music, and in its original context, for not much more than half the new price. Just a thought....
1313 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2012
For fans who loves all their exquisite singles, this is sort of a compact compilation to show how diverse the music of Goldfrapp can be. For new fans, after purchasing this, please do purchase their respective albums because there are so much more to this magnificent duo than these songs on this cd.
The only complaint that i have is why didn't the record company releases the music videos of these featured singles? Goldfrapp does have some of the most eccentric and mindblowing moving images to do just more than manipulate your senses. A great purchase.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)