Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
44
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 August 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2016
Very happy with this dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
Bought as a present for a relative who will receive it this coming Sunday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
Awesome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I am a great fan of The Simpsons 'Treehouse of Horror' specials, and picked up this DVD at a relatively cheap cost. I guess that this collection was intended to appeal to the causal fan, with four episodes available at a budget price. Indeed, I have recently seen this collection on sale in supermarkets and bargain shops leading up to Halloween. For the bigger Simpsons enthusiast though, this DVD will disappoint.

More episodes could have included on the disc, or it could at least have been kept sequential. I was disappointed that the first 'Treehouse' wasn't included, but the ones that were, despite being perhaps slightly random choices, are very good: 'Treehouse of Horror V' (1994), Treehouse of Horror VI' (1995), 'Treehouse of Horror VII' (1996), and 'Treehouse of Horror XII' (2001).

For anyone who hasn't seen any 'Treehouse of Horror' episodes, they contain three mini-stories in one, and are very entertaining takes of famous horror films. In fact, a lot of those stories could have billed as 'A Simpsons' Tribute To Stephen King'. The first episode parodies 'The Shining', with Homer, away from home with no television or beer, attempting to murder his family. In V1', Homer finds himself trapped in a three dimensional world and becomes 3D computer-generated character, the animation is brilliant and must have been something at the time, it's certainly unique to the show.

In all, I really enjoy these Simpsons Halloween classics, they are very funny and it's always good to see the characters in different situations and scenarios that we are used to seeing them in. The film, television and cultural references come at you fast, and these four episodes are a solid reminder of how clever and entertaining the show really is. I have to say though, we are still waiting for a definitive set of 'Treehouse of Horror', and whilst this is a good introduction, it is far from perfect.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2002
I was really excited to see that fox had brought out a halloween special compilation, I am a really big fan of the Simpsons and always look forward to the halloween specials.
However I think it could have been better thought out, instead of slapping a half hearted DVD together for the holidays. The episodes are a randon pick from about 13 specials to date. The episodes chosen aren't the best halloween ones either. Apart from the episodes there is a montage of Kang and Kodos, the cycloptic aliens who always make an apperance in the halloween episodes. This montage is pointless and the jokes make no sense out of context. A waste of 3 minutes.
On the plus side, the episodes(5, 6, 9, 12) do contain a few scenes that were edited out of the original TV release episodes due to bad taste and time restrictions. As for the episodes themselves, they're pretty good, but they could have chosen better episodes for this collection. For simpsons fans only.
review image
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
When it comes to Halloween episodes the big three are "Roseanne," "The Simpsons" and "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" (although "BtVS" was always an every other year deal). You would think that the producers of these shows would have figured out that offering an alternative to splatter flicks as what to watch on October 31st that video/DVD packages of classic Halloween episodes would be an obvious choice. But you have to pick up seasons 2 and 4 (and wait for 6) of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer," catch "Roseanne" in syndication, and deal with this limited offering from "The Simpsons." It is not often that you come across a DVD that could have increased its average rating by a star if it just had "Volume 1" as part of the title.
Actually, this really should be "Volume 2" of "The Simpsons: Treehouse of Horror," because it offers "Treehouse of Horror" V, VI, VII and XII. Whatever the joke is here, I am clearly missing out on it. Why not V, VI, VII and VIII? For that matter why not I, II, III and IV? Is it because the first three seasons of the Simpsons are out on DVD? It is because Roman numerals confused the people making the decisions? To add insult to injury, these are bare boned discs. No commentaries, no features, no animated menus, just a some clips of Kang and Kodos (e.g., Kang on Jerry Springer). The episodes are great, but the bad faith effort here loses a star.
"Treehouse of Horror V" offers a take off on "The Shining," Homer traveling through time with the aid of a toaster in "Time and Punishment," and the school staff doing the Sweeney Todd and Mrs. Lovett bit with the students in "Nightmare Cafeteria." "Treehouse of Horror VI" offers killer billboards in "Attack of the 50-Foot Eyesores," Groundskeeper Willie as a Freddie Krueger clone in "Nightmare on Evergreen Terrance," and a computer generated Homer making it to the real world in "Homer3". "Treehouse of Horror VII" reveals that Bart's evil twin has been chained in the attic in "The Thing and I," Lisa creates a microscopic world as a science project in "The Genesis Tub," and Kang and Kodos replace Bill Clinton and Bob Dole in the election as "Mr. Kang Goes to Washington." We then skip ahead to "Treehouse of Horror XII" which has a gypsy curse destroying Homer's life in "Hex and the City," the Simpsons living in a computerized home in "House of Whacks," and the Simpsons' twist on Harry Potter in "Wiz Kids."
Of course, the rule of thumb here is what it always has been for "The Simpsons," which is that the more familiar you are with the original films and other pop culture elements being referenced in these episodes, the more you will enjoy them. I should add that these episodes have been "restored" for DVD, which means that the scenes cut for syndication are back in this time around. But the obvious lesson here is that each fall, when the World Series finally ends and FOX gets around to airing the Simpson's new "Treehouse of Horror" episode sometime in early November you should go ahead an tape it to keep for your Halloween enjoyment each year. Who knows when it will actually become available on DVD.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
Old DVD that I lost , was replaced promptly and very very cheaply from the ever reliable Zoverstocks as always
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2016
Although I have all the Treehouse of Horror episodes in their respective box sets, it would be nice to have a complete issue of them on their own.
This compilation has episodes 5 / 6 / 7 /12 .... why not 5 / 6 / 7 / 8, so that we could have separate box sets of four released in order?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2011
When I started to watch The Simpsons, I loved watching the Treehouse Of Horror the most. The episodes on the dvd are really funny, they take the mickey out of The Shining, A Nightmare On Elm Street and Harry Potter. I have watched them over and over so many times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)