Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars


on 13 March 2015
I bought this for the design which is excellent. A beautiful book about awful things.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2016
Came to me in perfect condition. Lovely book and helpful for my degree.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 February 2015
Not for the squeamish, this book is a fascinating and compelling collection of illustrations from medical textbooks of the days before colour photography, when meticulous colour drawings were the only way to show the reader the visible symptoms of disease. This includes diseases that most modern readers in developed countries will never have encountered, making some of the images particularly startling.

What makes the drawings particularly interesting is the meticulous detail and precision of the artwork in contrast to the gruesome subject matter it portrays. A human hand in the grotesque advanced stages of leprosy is rendered in tiny and delicate detail, for instance, and immense care has been taken by every artist in reproducing the variations in colour and texture of even the most hideous of growths, lesions and sores.

There's something particularly arresting about the images that show the subject's face and clothing. In their carefully reproduced Regency and Victorian clothing with their neat period hairstyles, these are people straight from genteel costume dramas, which somehow makes their disfiguring or fatal conditions seem all the more shocking.

The book's text is beautifully written and informative.

As I've come to expect from this publisher, this book is beautifully produced in every way, with exceptional design.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
I bought this on a whim as I've got an interest in older medical illustration. I am thoroughly pleased with the book. The illustrations are all of really good quality and shows the progression of a large number of illnesses and conditions that with the advent of modern medicine are no longer seen in medical practice (well, at least I hope they're not). I personally think this is a fantastic coffee table book, my girlfriend on the other hand disagrees. Apparently, it may put some people off their biscuits.....
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
A bit disappointing, as you can read it in an hour - and then what?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
A wonderful book giving an insight into the medical practice of yesteryear, and emphasises the wonders and advancement of modern medicine in all its forms. The book is primarily highlighting the art, but the accompanying text is both informative and engrossing.

As my twelve year old daughter succinctly pointed out, it takes "horrible histories" to the next level. She LOVES it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2016
Very in-depth, but accessible.
Much bigger than expected if I'm honest, but that's not a problem with me :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
Great book, ideal for art project on the body!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
Item was delivered quickly, highly enjoyed too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
Very good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)