Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
20
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 October 2008
This book is a very well thought out piece of work. with clear diagrams and in depth explanations this book makes it easy for any shotokan karate-ka to learn or to help in addition to their training.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2012
This is THE BOOK for anybody wanting to learn Shotokan Karate.

It is clearly divided into sections for each grading, giving the grading syllabus at the start of each section. This is then followed by clear, concise pictures and instructions demonstrating the techniques required for each belt. It covers both the techniques (punches, blocks, kicks, etc.) and the individual katas in a good level of detail.

The katas in particular are very well documented, with colour photographs of EVERY step of EVERY kata, along with step-by-step instructions, even down to which foot to turn on.

At the rear of the book is a quick summary of the syllabus, along with summary diagrams of each kata.

I would thoroughly recommend this to anybody keen to learn Karate or improve their technique.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2011
I bought this book for my brother and it is just fantastic. Loads of really good information which has helped alot with his technique. I am going to buy one for myself as well. Don't want him having all the advantage!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2011
Well laid out book, a fantastic complement to your Dojo training.
The syllabus is laid out with a chapter per grade.
Detailed Kata,Basics and Sparring pictures included.
Also a Kata overview at the end as well.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2011
This book covers, in appropriate detail, the entire grading syllabus for Shotokan Karate. On its own just a formal reference describing what is required for each grade is very welcome.

Where this book really shines is the descriptive text and accompanying pictures that really illustrate the requirements for training and grading up to 1st Dan (Black Belt). One note of caution; I would not use this book as an exclusive source in Shotokan Karate martial arts...actual structured training in a Dojo is still required.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2011
The Shotokan Karate Bible details the authentic journey to black belt. This is Sensei Enoeda's legacy in an authoritative text with a meticulous attention to detail that is so hard to find - the spirit of Karate at it's best. Ashley Martin's Bible is not just a starting point for self-defense, but a timeless reference point for the crucial detail of Karate that is so often neglected. The Karate Bible for sure.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
Great reference book.Clear visuals and simple text allows easy understanding of technique and katas, I would recommend this for all grades, but especially for middle grades.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
I first saw this book in a well-known high-street bookstore just after I started training in Shotokan Karate in June 2011. I only managed to have a quick look at it in the store, but was instantly impressed with the layout of the book and the information contained within. I then came home and purchased from Amazon.

I am now a brown belt at the same club and this has been an invaluable source of information in all aspects required for each belt. The katas, kumite and kihon (basics) are all laid out move-by-move with tips of how to and how not to do these various things. There is also some interesting history at the start of the book describing how Shotokan came to be.

I cannot recommend this book highly enough - especially for those doing Shotokan karate from beginner to 1st Dan (1st black belt). It would also serve as an excellent reference for those at Black belt and above who are looking to brush up on some of those things you learn, but perhaps forget over time!

I note that there is a second book by this author which takes you through the Advanced Elements of 1st Dan and beyond - I have no doubts that I will be adding this book to my collection once I get a little closer to 1st Dan.

Oss!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
A brilliant book which makes a suitable companion for "Black Belt Karate: The Intensive Course".
It's good to get another perspective especially when - as in this case - the school of karate is Shotokan.
For instance, although the katas are described extremely comprehensively in both books, there are one or two instances where comparing the photos of certain moves side by side makes a move or stance more understandable and hence enjoyable!
Another great buy and it does what it says on the cover!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
Great book that covers most of the basics/kata/kumite from white to black belt. Useful tips and pictures, I look at it regularly. Some of the pictures would need a bit of a close up, but altogether probably 'the' book anyone involved in Shotokan karate would initially need.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse