Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
9
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 January 2007
I felt I had to contribute this review as the only other review on Amazon is from someone who thought there was only one five minute movie included!!

It is included - along with 5 other short films, the longest of which is 50 minutes. The Grandmother is the longest film & is reminiscent of Eraserhead (it was the film he made pior to Eraserhead)in its feel. Then we have two short partly animated films from Lynch's student days,two versions of a video film experiment called The Amputee which is excruitiating and hilarious by turns, a curious "cowboy art" film from the early nineties which isn't entirely successful but has some lovely cinematography and finally a one minute movie made with an original lumiere camera - one of the first movie cameras ever made. This- despite its tiny duration - is fabulous. Overall a wonderful set, very nicely packaged and highly recommended.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2008
This is probably my favourite Lynch dvd. If you like the man already...buy this now. It is probably best reserved for his bigger fans..who have already seen his other films.
I thought it would just be a nice wee addition to my Lynch collection..but i totally fell in love with it.
When a friend stays at your house, throw on The Alphabet (short film 2) while they writhe around in hungover agony!
Hours of fun.. and things will never be the same thereafter.

GET!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2009
An excellent and welcome collection of short films from one of cinema's great auteurs. All of these short films have been difficult to get hold of before this handy DVD, and as it is now widely priced below £10, you get pretty good value. The strongest draws here are The Grandmother and The Alphabet, both pre-Eraserhead and filled with signs of an artist building his own vision and style, and Lynch himself introduces each film.

This doesn't receive a full five stars for two reasons. Firstly, The Cowboy And The Frenchman, the second longest film here, is really rather dire. Made in between Blue Velvet and Twin Peaks and commissioned as one of several shorts by different directors with their view of the French as subject matter, Lynch does not come out of the experiment in a good light.

Secondly, it is incomplete. I would especially have liked the full selection of Rabbits shorts that later featured in Inland Empire to have been included.

Nevertheless, the release of this DVD is a treat for Lynch fans.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2009
Although this collection is probably best suited to a Lynch completist it's still worth a watch if only for the marvellous 'The Grandmother' - the tale of an abused boy who tries to find comfort away from his parents by growing a grandmother from a seed. Bizarre, yet fascinating.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2011
Very much for completists, this collection of short films sees David Lynch on even more bizarre form than ever. Along with brief experiments in animation and film, such as Six Men Getting Sick and the blink-and-you'll-miss-it Luminere; this collection also contains the half-hour The Grandmother and The Cowboy And The Frenchmen, the former sees David Lynch visiting the disturbing and surreal fantasy landscapes which would truly come into fruition in his debut feature Eraserhead, and the latter is an exploration of his bizarre sense of comedy. The Alphabet is an enjoyable four minute romp through the conscious and unconscious of young children and the amputee is a grisly satire.

Each film contains an interesting introduction by David Lynch, which in most cases gives a great insight to this incredibly talented man's insane imagination and the influences of his work.

If you've found any of David Lynch's feature length films too unusual for your tastes, this DVD is not for you. However, any fan of David Lynch, particularly fans of his films based on symbolism, such as Eraserhead and Inland Empire, will enjoy much of this DVD.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2009
This is great not only if you're a David Lynch fan but great art class kind of work.The grandmother is very dark and scary but the short film:The alphabet still gives me nightmares.It's terrifying.I am a big David Lynch and I reccomend this to anyone who would wish to see his earlier work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
A beautiful book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2009
My husband collects all films by David Lynch and this was a welcomed addition. Thank you very much

Vee
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2006
I enjoyed watching this short film and its an intresting piece of art BUT I really don't think it should have been made into a single DVD as it goes on for less than 5mins and to be honest the 5mins is long enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.95

Need customer service? Click here