Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
131
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 May 2017
A hard hitting very well acted British film at its best.....Cast /script and directorship is excellent...A Film 4 / BFI..movie that only they can make it is a dark/honest and upsetting piece of very good film making...Why did they get rid of the BFI ...Big political ERROR...Do not miss this one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A somewhat true reflection on life growing up as a Brit in the poverty stricken areas of the UK.

A hard and very upsetting watch.

Superb acting by all involved.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2017
I was glued to this film from the off, the acting is good and the characters believable. The story, a hard one to watch as you know the boys are heading for disaster in some shape or form. A sad ending, but needed to finish the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2016
Dark and gritty interpretation of the classic tale. I enjoyed it but felt it was a little predictable in its use of the Northern poverty device. Four out of five....glad I watched it but I will pass it on now as I don't want to see it again really
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Takes a while to get going but shows the reality of life. Brilliantly acted. You really start to like the leads, especially Swifty. You will be in tears by the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
I down to earth films, could watch it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2017
Real. Ever experienced a random unexplained (not weather related) powercut? Chances are someone's either nicking the cable or tapping the supply. I simply cannot find fault with this film. The script, acting and filming are perfect. If there is any issue it is that this is probably even more real than 'I Daniel Blake' - but that is an issue for your conscience. The wider politics are not covered or hinted at directly which is what makes this such a perfect and powerful film. You need to go way an think about this yourself. If you're capable. It is simply a story. If you think it is unrealistic then you live in a bubble - jolly good for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
Having lived in a community not dissimilar to this, I understand the arduous tribulation and pain Arber and Swifty went through, the pain of this loss for Arber and the hardship those boys and their families faced. Yet the death of Swifty will never leave Arber, a good depiction of this account of life from the other side of the street....... it brought tears to my eyes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2017
No selfish people no giants not a sign of Harry Potter jk Rowling really ruined this film .but lucky for us the darth vader makes the film .no spoilers but he yodas father
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
It would be false to say that I liked this film. In fact, it was hard to watch, in its depiction of life at the bottom of the social ladder.
Here we have two young boys from families struggling to survive, in a world in which education and background are hugely influential. More than this, it depicts graphically the hopelessness and helplessness of children from families where shouting, swearing and using their fists, is the only form of communication and a hugely ineffective form of discipline; and school serves no purpose for them when survival is the prime objective.
Yet, in stealing precious metals (copper, etc.) from wiring sites, in an attempt to earn money and acceptance with scrap dealers (surrogate fathers), the protagonists show interest in the horses. One boy, in particular, has a 'feel' for the horse when riding the carriage, and therefore potential for racing, This is the first time he has received credit for anything, thereby incurring envy in his friend, who draws him into the very dangerous game of stealing metal from live wiring sites. The friend wears protective clothing, he does not. The consequences and the promise of the boy with a feel for horses, is predictable.
It left me with a number of thoughts and feelings: in any setting, to show promise and to have it recognized, incurs envy in others. Money is the driving force in every strata of society and where there is absolute poverty, childhood and education, are easily sacrificed in the quest for survival. Yet, what is survival at this level?
This is a grim, Dickensian, yet hugely evocative film, the rawness and the poverty of the characters authentically drawn, the acting superb, particularly from the two protagonists, whose quest takes them to dangerous and ultimately deadly places.
Yet, as in Dickens, the potential of characters, for whom childhood has little meaning, shows itself in subtle ways. The harshness of the environment, of language and of appearances, almost obscures the desire and longing of the protagonists to be accepted for their achievements, and to be given the opportunity to shine and to make some money out of it, in order to achieve more than simple survival.
Not a film I would watch over and over, but none-the-less, a brilliant depiction of childhood poverty in the raw and a measure of what children will do to improve their lot, in the only way they knew how - by emulating the men (also outcasts in society) yet strangely emulating the way of all trade: the survival of the fittest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)