Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 April 2017
This was my first book on Bletchley Park. Very informative and an excellent portrayal of the hidden life of one of the important, if not the most important contributions to victory in WWII. The book makes the Bletchley intellectual youngsters so believable! I hope to go into more books by Sinclair McKay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
SUPERB & GRIPPING

Reads like a thriller in places and in others like social history at its best. It shows that THE IMITATION GAME was almost pure fiction. But as well as being more accurate, this story is more fun and more profound at the same time. Best book I've read so far this year (out of about 25).

Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
i really love this book : it's so interesting ! the title is rather a marketing one since this book deals far much more with sociology and even with a topical anthropology.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
Great peace of history, a very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2017
Bought as a present so not read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2017
Prompt services, book as description. Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2017
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
Have visited Bletchley Park and this filled in some of the gaps. great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2010
This book is rivetting. I know we've all been told quite a bit about Bletchley Park since the wraps were removed, but this book makes one realise how absolutely extraordinary a place it was; and how amazingly extraordinary were the girls and boys, men and women who worked there. It is wonderfully human in its descriptions of personalities and is better than any novel I have ever read set in this period and a similar background. It shows how beautifully English-amateurish and ad hoc was the setting up and gathering of suitable personnel; and how very well-chosen and suitable they all were ! Doubt it would be allowed to happen today ! And how much we owe them all can never ever be calculated. I'm so glad this has been written and published whilst so many of them are able to receive this salute to their loyalty and commitment. We owe them our un-dying gratitude....literally !
11 Comment| 178 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
Interesting read and now purchased the follow up book - enjoyed so much a trip to Bletchley Park is now on the cards.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)