Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 June 2014
Im only half way through this book but Im really enjoying it. I was testing out downloading books and this one sounded the most interesting for my first e book. I have not been disappointed. I will certainly be reading the other two in the series and if you enjoy a good mature spy thriller then give this a go - its was free ...what a bargain ;-)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2014
An interesting book following a well to do family through the early years of the 20th century and their involvement in the establishment of the various different secret service departments and how world affairs and famous people from history interacted with this fictitious family and the outcome of their involvement. An interesting read and one you can get engrossed in - would appeal to readers who enjoy John LeCarre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2015
A good and frightening story of a family born to privilege, most of whom abuse it by betraying each other and in some cases their country. Selfish and self deluded, the patriach uses his family to further his own ends, not to mention his country's secret service and their enemy's as well. He is much more capable than the Cambridge cold war spies. An example of power corrupting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2015
I don't understand why the late John Gardner is such a well-kept secret. This is a wonderfully written trilogy which I thought was at least as good as John Le Carre. I am now exploring his other books, some of which shamefully are out of print and not even available on Kindle.If you want another fix of this trio there are some sort-of sequels featuring the character Herbie Kruger.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2016
Too many Railstons, very poor introduction to the various families and not one character worth following. I found the writing to be particularly boring which is why I abandoned it at 50%.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2018
If you like spy thrillers then this is for you! At times it appears to be slow and then the plot grips you in a book which is hard to put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2016
This is a sort of hommage to Keith Follett's series The Century Trilogy. But Follett can really write. Gardner cannot manage his hordes of named characters to the same extent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2014
Plenty of detail and obviously a lot of research has gone into this. A little overcomplicated for me though with perhaps so many characters it is hard to empathise with any one of them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2015
Brilliant. In the secret world of espionage there can be no greater praise. I couldn't put the trilogy down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2017
Revisiting John Gardner as in the past I read all his books and this series is my favourite
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse