Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
40
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.94
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 September 2014
The Samson Effect - Tony Eldridge Kindle Edition

The storyline was quite good but the tale was a bit of a foxhunter - better in the chase than in the catching - the 'Samson Effect' did not really hold up as a viable possibility. Full marks however for the unusal concept.

A few spelling and homophonic errors and a couple of historical/religious error which probably originate from the King James re-write and editing of the old testament books. Never-the-less an enjoyable read. I shall look out for this author's future offerings.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2011
A fantastic concept here, executed incredibly well by Tony Eldridge who, I believe, is a first time novelist.
The likening to a modern day Indiana Jones is not an exaggeration, this is a real roller coaster, thrill a minute page turner.
Criticisms? One minor one. Mr. Eldridge has a tendency to use too many words on occasion - I stumbled over the odd sentence, but it in no way detracts from the detailed plot and the terrific action. If a movie is indeed in the pipeline, I'll be there. Well done.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2010
I am a big fan of ancient mysteries, action adventure stories & thrillers, so I was immediately intrigued when I came across The Samson Effect & the blurb from Clive Cussler sealed the deal. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, it's an engaging read with a good sense of place, relentlessly fast pacing, and is populated with lively, colourful characters. A secret held since biblical times has been protected by an ancient order, but there are opposing forces closing in on it. It can impart superhuman powers & near invincibility, so the draw is irresistible. Should it fall into the wrong hands, the consequences could be disastrous.

Mr. Eldridge certainly has a flair for storytelling and creating an interesting mystery. I would have liked it if he had taken even more time in telling it - relationships & events happened quickly and could have afforded a lengthier path to develop.

The ending hints at more mysteries to come, which I hope does happen. I would not hesitate to pick up the next novel by this author. Recommended for readers who enjoy thrillers, action adventure tales, quick reads, and ancient mysteries.

Rai Aren, co-author of the award-winning mystery novel Secret of the Sands
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
I really enjoyed the first three quarters of this book and would have given it 4-5 stars if the final chapters had been better. However, for me it started to fall apart when having found the `treasure' of the story the main characters, who up until then had been rather clever, suddenly became rather stupid and the ending came all rather predictably. Shame because it started all so well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
The basic premise is a bit far fetched but the book is well written and the various threads kept coming together and separating again so that the reader wanted to find out what happened next. The biblical facts seemed very authentic, as they should, in view of the author's background in biblical research. I would certainly read another book by the same author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
What an imagination Tony Eldridge has, obviously a lot of research and first hand knowledge of the subject matter made this a thoroughly enjoyable read. Tony Eldridge is a writer who is well worth following.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
A good read and a good thriller - good to sit back and enjoy on a quiet evening at home
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
Fascinating story, It is well written and it develops the characters well. Kept me gripped to the last page.and has got me on the hunt for similar sort of stories by the same author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
A whirlwind of adventure, story line was far fetched but a few read all in all, will read more of the authors work, if you like Dan Brown books then this is ideal for fans of him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
What if.......it's possible....could it be true? Fact and fiction mixed well and stirred..not shaken! Well written with plenty of everyone forgery one. Most enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse