Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9
The Road To 1945: British Politics and the Second World War Revised Edition
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 16 April 2015
Inspiring book. One of those seminal works, alongside the likes of A J P Taylor, which everyone should read. It's difficult to be motivated or impressed as an undergraduate, as many things in the world disappoint. This book cut through my ambivalence and has left an impression. It shows what we really won in the war, and it shows what we have thrown away since 1989. Relevant today with the election looming and all parties now committed to the marketised world.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2017
Got a present for history tutor, haven't heard any complaints and came fast with no damage or fuss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2016
Great book which highlights the consensus theory for the post war period, definitely worth a read whether you're studying the period or just want an easy book to read about the 1940s and British politics
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2017
Very good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2013
Very good overview which provides a comprehensive guide to this fascinating period of British history. Would recommend for university courses covering this topic, as much clearer than other texts I have read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2015
none
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2011
Bought to assist me with my university studies, easy to read and very informative about politics from 1920s to 1945. came quickly in good condition many thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2008
To what extent was democracy preserved in the workings of Britain's government during the Second World War ? If the regular canvassing of public opinion, and the chicanery of opposing party politics and independent mavericks are reliable indicators, then "not too bad" would seem to be the answer of this book. The chapters of the book chronicle the stages of co-operation and competition of parliamentarians through the late `30s to 1945, and how their electoral support influenced and was influenced by the military and welfare systems of the UK.

If the contents of the book had not lived up to the title claimed on the cover, I would have said as much in this review. Its approach is as impartial, comprehensive, reflective and occasionally droll as the average reader on this topic could want.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2012
I bought this book to assist me with my British Politics History course and I predict it will be of huge help. Despite a few creases on the first couple of pages and, remarkably, unfathomable red 'note-taking' on one of the pages, it arrived in decent condition and in double quick time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)