Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
21
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 January 2009
Phew, this is heavy! Comparisons are often made to Biohazard - but Hatebreed are less experimental, less hip hop influenced and crucially only employ one vocalist as opposed to Biohazard's 2 pronged attack.
There isn't a great deal of variety, but when is there in Hardcore?!
The genre has it's own limits, but here HB play to the strengths.
The riffs are heavy and fat (slight Death Metal sound at times?), the bass is upfront in the mix, and nice and clanky, the drumming is a level above the norm, with some great bass drums (never overused though) and Jasta's vocals are perfect for this; VERY heavy, and brutal in a low register, but every single word is recognisable - think Henry Rollins meets Evan Seinfeld with a dash of Anselmo, and a Death Metal garnish. I like these vox, nothing else would fit this so well. Lyrics are your standard urban survival/rise above/self improvement themes but let's be honest, tales of Viking battles would be just a little out of place here!
The songs aren't always 100 mph, and do have a groove at times, and crucially the production is of a very high standard. There's no DJ's or samples either - just guitar, bass & drums. No real guitar solos as such -just very heavy rhythm work.
It's under 40 minutes and it's just the right length too.
My personal fav's are Doomsayer, Tear It Down & A Lesson Lived Is A Lesson Learned.
For fans of Biohazard, Rollins Band, Agnostic Front, Machine Head, Pantera, (possibly) Zyklon, and early Slipknot.
Music from the heart, made for the Streets....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2003
In the unlikely event that you've read my review of Hatebreed's previous album Perseverance, you'll have seen that I gave it a pretty good slagging on the grounds that it did not have one original moment on it and every single good thing on it was ripped off from Biohazard. However, since I wrote that, my attitude towards them has softened somewhat due to repeated listens, and I now thinks that it isn't that bad of an album at all. This new one still blows it out of the water though. For starters, it's much more Metal in style than it's predecessor, which was strictly Hardcore all the way. This new release 'The Rise Of Brutality' is still strongly Hardcore, but many of the riffs now have a much stronger Metallic flavour to them, and it's to the improvement of the entire record. The painfully clichéd lyrics from 'Perseverance' have largely been cut out as well (sample lyric from 'You're Never Alone' from 'Perseverance'; "This is for the kids who have nowhere to turn, who have nothing to live for, you think you haven't the will to persist, you have to search within yourself". How cheesy do you want it?), so the whole record does not bang on about Hardcore unity and standing up for yourself anymore. Whilst the record is no longer as preachy, it retains it's predecessor's ability to strip paint at 50 paces, as one thing no Hatebreed album could be accused of is lacking extremity. If you like your Metal/Hardcore hybrid to be as heavy and brutal as they come, this is the record for you. With such crushing tracks as 'Tear It Down', 'Straight To Your Face' and 'This Is Now', this is one seriously heavy album. They've certainly converted me and made me into a believer.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2003
Love them or Hate them, there is no denying the awesome force of Hatebreed. Place 'Perseverance', the new albium's predecessor, in your CD player and don't be surprised if you're headbanging within 30 seconds. Flick on 'The Rise Of Brutality' and you'll be starting a pit in your own house.
Hatebreed are that extreme.
'The Rise Of Brutality' is an album that hits you hard from the first note to the last. It kicks your ass and leaves you laying.
The pure heavyness of the guitars sends unwavering shockwaves through your body, while the pounding drums leave you wondering if goverment bomb disposal units are outside. Not only that, but the pure rage in the vocal work of Jamey Jasta make you wonder how you ever lived without...
'The Rise Of Brutality' by Hatebreed.
Hatebreed is one of the most extreme bands I have ever heard and 'The Rise Of Brutality' is an album that keeps me happy and will make casual listeners take notice and become hardcore listeners - ALL HAIL HATEBREED!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2003
Hatebreed use the philiosophy that 'if it ain't broke dont fix it' continuing with the same sort of formula that was used in 'Perserverance'. So while you shouldnt be expecting anyhting new, this is still well worth purchasing. Hatebreed are a band on the rise, as the album title suggests, and are the leading band in a new generation of hardcore.
Stand out tracks include their single ' This is now' and 'doomsayer'
Classic album.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Hatebreed are effective if nothing else, they really get the task done and done well. It is a mistake to dismiss the band for their simple riffs because what the riffs are is not simple but rather effective. Hatebreed deliver the maximum possible effect in the most direct and vital fashion.
Jamie Jasta's refreshingly positive lyrical approach may seem cheesy to the jaded and cynical but the man certainly knows how to write memorable sing along moments designed specifically to make you feel good about yourself which I for one find commendable.
Each Hatebreed album is a different approach to the same very effective formula, with different albums concentrating more on one aspect of the band's sound than another but still very much retaining that Hatebreed sound. Rise of Brutality sits in the position of perhaps being the most strict with the formula, there are no punkier numbers, no thrashier numbers and no instrumentals, every song is a perfectly constructed Hatebreed anthem with hard edge, a sing along chorus and a big breakdown. This may not be the album to consider if you are tired of every song sounding exactly the same, but if enjoy what Hatebreed do best then this album contains the most songs directly in that exact style.
The production isn't the clearest of all, but is by no means poor. The album as a whole sounds very dense and low end which is a good style for a band like Hatebreed although not one which you will find on the rest of their albums which favour a clearer and crisper production style.
If you are new to Hatebreed and are wondering which of their albums is right for you, the key points in favour of Rise of Brutality are the singles 'This is Now,' & 'Live For This,'along with fan favourite songs 'Doomsayer,' and 'Beholder of Justice.'
To summarise this is a very good album and perhaps the most definitive example of Hatebreed's musical style, it is highly recommended to existing fans of the band is is a pretty good album to make your first Hatebreed record.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2003
After a year since their last album, 'The Rise of Brulality' was certanly one very awaited album. Keeping to the same style as 'preservance' they really give their fans one hell of a kick start when listening to the album. Most fans who own 'Preservance' will notice something at the start ;).
I personally think the album is missing something, like 'jasongriff123' said, it feels like the 30 sec mosh sets lack a bit, but still the vocals and more to the point the band them selves have certanly given the music world another push with this fantastic album.
If you like this album go and get their first album 'Satisfaction Is The Death Of Desire'.
Good album well done lads.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
Hatebreed's debut album Satisfaction is the death of desire was released in 1997 on Victory records. It then took the band 5 years to release their sophomore album Perseverance after a couple of changes in the band and a sign-up to the major label Universal records in 2002. The album was a progression for the band with a heavier sound and a more focused brand of hardcore. This album follows on just 1 year after that release so whereas the last album was prepared for 5 years this has had barely any time in the making compared. So it is completely understandable why this album has such a similar sound to Perseverance with very little development for the band with their sound. I am not complaining about this at all. Perseverance was a brilliant hardcore album and this 1 follows suit. I've never understood why bands who have a great sound suddenly change it just so they can say their sound has progressed/developed and it sounds far worse. Linkin Park are a cracking example of that. I am a big believer of 'if it ain't broke don't break it', so I've no problem with this choice the band made. I enjoyed the last album and I certainly enjoyed this 1 too!

This album was recorded as a foursome because Lou 'Boulder' Richards - guitarist had left the band due to personal problems which left the band with just 1 guitarist. This however does not affect the sound at all and it sounds as thick and as full as the last album did.

The album's name The rise of brutality is reflected in the artwork - the cover has pictures of Jesus carrying the cross, Romans, a man with his head down in angst and a chimney stack spewing pollution. The back has a priest praying and barb wire covering the top of a fence. Inside depicts a riot with an armed riot squad. The album's main theme is different to the last album. Whereas Perseverance was mainly about pushing through bad times with your head held high this album focuses more on the brutal and cruel nature of humankind; morally bankrupt, and how disordered and messed up this world is.

The album literally carries on from where the last one ended with the song Tear it down which was an instrumental for the end of Perseverance (album). Some of the songs have notes next to them in booklet where Jamey Jasta reveals his thoughts on the inspiration for the songs. One thing I will say is that Jamey has never sounded so good vocally as he does on this album. The first track slams the listener into submission as soon as the first scream is heard with lyrics like "For once just stand the f*** up and fight!". It's the shortest song on the record at 1:47. Straight to your face really has us prepared for the sound of this whole album. Jamey ends with his trademark "blah!" which I love. Facing what consumes you is the hardest yet and one of the best. The chorus is amazing; "Doubt me, hate me, you're the inspiration I need". Live for this was 1 of the 2 singles and definitely a memorable track. Not as heavy as the last but it has a great sound and a chorus to match; "Every drop of blood, every bitter tear, every bead of sweat, I live for this". Doomsayer is great with a powerful sound like hammers to your ears and is one of my favourites. It's got a pretty long outro which is unusual for this band. Another day, another vendetta is another of the best songs which really describes Jamey's view on how destitute the world is with lyrics like "The question they keep asking me, how can one so young be so bitter and angry?, well the answer is plain to see..." and a hard-hitting amazing chorus. It's a negative song but the lyrics are also so positive too which is something this band excels at. A lesson lived is a lesson learned starts with a humorous "Do it" followed by a scream. Another strong track with a solid chorus. Beholder of justice is up there with my top 3 favourites. It speaks of the injustice of this world with Jamey yelling "Beholder of justice, who have you abandoned... why have you forgotten us?"! This is now has a very upbeat sound and was another single. It's another really memorable track with a powerful, influential chorus; "This is now, how can I change tomorrow if I can't change today?... if I control myself I control my destiny". It's another track that portrays why I love this band with such a power-house sound and brutally honest, motivational lyrics. Voice of contention is 1 of a couple of less exciting tracks with a slower sound. It is still a decent song. Choose or be chosen picks up the pace with a fast rhythm and a great, rhythmical chorus. One of the most memorable tracks. Confide in no one is a song to learn from with a fantastic sound with a double sound, dubbed vocals in the verse which is really effective and sounds so good. The chorus is simple but gets the message across! "Confide in no one... confide in nothing" Jamey screams. I can relate!

The bonus track Bound to violence, which appears on the soundtrack for the movie The Punisher (2004), is a solid song with a strong sound. It isn't of any less quality than the rest of the songs on this album. The rhythm is almost catchy, the chorus is powerful and there is some very impressive lead guitar which comes in halfway through - a positive experiment by the band.

Another great album by this band with the continuation of a powerful and effective hardcore sound that fans like myself enjoy and value.
44 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2003
my o my. can i just b4 i start that the album is awesome. I was a bit suspect after "perserverance" but this album has surley shown why hatebreed are one of the most feared outfits in metal today. a million miles apart from the last album sees them developing new, fresher sounds which are juicy enough even for the hardcore hatebreed fan. Ths riffs are crushing and reminds a little of earlier slipknot and metallica. this band has many more years to come if they keep on prodcuing masterpieces such as the "rise of brutality".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2003
Hatebreed are back with "the rise of brutality", and it's only a year since we were blessed with "perserverance". Yes it has only been a short while since perserverance but hatebreed fans will tell you, it seems like an age. The style and method is pretty much the same as perserverance except the tempo is a little faster on some of the tracks - for example 'another day, another vendetta'. This album brings more class than the previous two albums, the overall sound quality and production of this album is superb. I wasn't expecting the album to be as good as it is, since it hasn't been long since perseverance, you can tell they have taken the time and effort to produce this album, but you can tell it has only been a year because of the 32 minuets overall playing time, it may be short but it's quality is it's strength. Could you honestly listen to a 70 minute hatebreed album? I know i could, but would the all round quality still be there. Don't be disapointed when you have listened to the whole album on a single bus journey, remember you can always listen to it again, and you will definately want to.
One big difference i noticed after listening to the album was the lack of mosh riffs. Like a lot of hatebreed fans i thought the best part of hatebreed songs was the 30 second mosh riff at the end of almost every song. But only a few of the songs have mosh riffs on the rise of brutality, and at first i was disappointed. A few of their songs have mosh riffs, for example "doomsayer" and "beholder of justice" and to be honest these are the two best songs on the album. But without mosh riffs hatebreed aren't as good? you ask. Well you would think that wouldn't you, but its not true, with quicker riff throughout most songs, you get just as good a result.
When you first play the cd and listen to the first track, you will think 'hhhmmmmmm', i've heard this before, and it's because this is the track 'outro' from perserverance but it's now a song, it has been extended and has had words added, and it results in a great opener. Hatebreed coule be descibed as the title of there second track 'straight to your face', the intensity onthe first few tracks is quite amazingly high, and then it goes into class mode with 'live for this' which is probably the least hatebreed like track (if you know what i mean) once you're done listen to that you are rewarded with 'doomsayer', this is by far the best track on the album, with it's catchy heavy tune, you'll be hooked to this song instantly, and at the end you get a bone crunching riff, which forces you to mosh, even if you resist you cant help but get up a go mental. And then the class comes back with 'another day another vendetta'. This track has a brilliant speedy riff, which is also very catchy. When you reach 'beholder of justice' you are a lucky person, because just when the song seems to be finishing you get the best riff on the album and one of the best from hatebreed. It goes on for 45 seconds and it is pure class, not as fast as the proven riff off perserverance (which is one of the best riffs ever) but this riff is pure heaviness with a lot of bass - excellent!!! And the you get this is now, which i think will probably be the most popular song. It personally reminds me of a longer, slower version of 'we still fight'.
Conclusion - if you have never heard Hatebreed and are gonna buy one of there cds i would recomend 'Satishfaction is the death of desire', if you like you music mega heavy then go for "perseverance", if you are new to hatebreedand like heavy stuff (well all hatebreed is frighteningly heavy)i recomend this but remember that it is very short, but all hatebreed albums are. Hatebreed still havn't reproduced the brilliance of 'Satishfaction is the death of desire' but it is hard to match the brilliance of one of the greatest metal albums of all time, it is not as intense as perserverance but definately worth a buy. To define a style, i would say a mix between satishfaction and perserverance - it's the best of both, but it's too damn short. If i give satishfaction 97% and i give perserverance 93% i would give this 92%.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2010
First things first, do not be put off too much by the slight inaccuracy of the title of this review. Firstly I know Hatebreed are not exclusively seen as a hardcore band and are sometimes classed as `metalcore'. Secondly, Hatebreeds riffs are down-tuned AND heavy..and..er..thats about it really! Don't get me wrong because main man Jamey Jasta has done a lot for metal and holds a lot of respect which is admirable. But the music here cannot be recommended. Unless mosh-tastic drivel consumed by well off suburban teenagers is your thing of course!

All the riffs are tuned to the exact same key and vary very little from beginning to end. But that's not the worst thing and the actual heaviness of the riffage is the only half-decent thing about this album. The worst crime must definitely be the songs and lyrics. Mr. Jasta's barking is fairly typical for a (supposed) hardcore band and he can be forgiven for that. But the lyrics, oh the lyrics. The positivity of the majority of the lyrics is to be admired (just about) but the standard is awful. An average 12 year old could have scribbled down the lyrics of this album in about half an hour. The recurring themes of empowerment, facing adversity, staying positive etc. really do become stomach churning after a while and had me pulling out my old tape of Urban Discipline just to kill the pain!

The rise of brutality? A cup of tea and some nice chocolate biscuits with your Granny on a Sunday afternoon would be more brutal! Their hardcore ethics and morals are in the right place and respect to them for that but the music is just awful and every cringe worthy lyric is crystal clear which is not good. Go get some Agnostic Front, Madball, old Pro-Pain or Sick of it All and leave this to the children.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here