Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
213
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 March 2017
A good story - revisited after a long time. It is well written and the book itself is nicely presented.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Having seen the film felt I had to rad the actual story. A good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
excellent read, cold not put it down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
No maps and irrelevant illustrations. This was very disappointing given that the story is a first class classic of its genre/ uni
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
Rather repetitive and slow
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2017
Good characterisation and exciting descriptions of sailing in the German coastal waters. Also, a good spy mystery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2015
Slow and difficult to follow plot
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2007
I love this book, I've read and re-read it again and again and still get something new out of it each time. The prose style is very much of its time and takes getting used to for a modern reader. Having struggled initially, I now think it's so well written, not as fast-paced as a modern story might be and all the better for it - the clarity and depth of the descriptions strike a balance between the needs of a first-time reader reading for the narrative and the boat-obsessed reader who already knows the story but wants to work out exactly what the tide is doing... I loved it before getting involved in small boats and now that I've become a boat obsessive myself, I like it even more.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2012
The little Collector's Library volumes are of beautiful quality, with fine paper and sewn bindings - and now offer a perfect alternative to the bigger Everyman's editions when you want a permanent copy.

This is a fairly disappointing volume in the series, however, because of the clumsy and simplified redrawing of some of the maps. The original book included facsimiles of Admiralty charts, and particularly important were the close-scale ones of the Frisian coast. In no other work of fiction are the maps so important: they are genuinely characters in the novel in themselves, something much more than just 'local colour'. This is after all a story of yachting and spying out a mysterious landscape, and the heroes spend a lot of time puzzling over and discussing these same charts (not in a way that slows down the story, I should add!). There is little in them that is actually redundant to the text.

There must be other reprints around that do a better job of the maps, surely!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2007
This has long been a favourite of mine, and the wonderful new Penguin edition is an absolute must have for admirers old and new.

A wonderful spy novel that should grip thriller fans as well as any amateur seafarer. The Riddle Of The Sands deserves the term classic.

The movie too made in the late 70s is also worth watching.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse