Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
23
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2015
bought for my daughter who is into this series of books. it carries on with the characters featured in the other books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 28 December 2007
Meg Cabot has done it again. PRINCESS MIA is Volume IX in THE PRINCESS DIARIES series. I've been hooked on Cabot's humor and the voice of Mia Thermopolis since Volume I, and this second-to-last in the series has me mourning the fact that it will soon be over.

With Michael breaking up with Mia, and Lilly giving her the silent treatment, Mia has hit an all-time low. She refuses to talk with anyone, go to school, or even get out of bed. But never fear - depression "Mia-style" is pretty entertaining. Days of wearing Hello, Kitty pajamas, watching reruns on TV, and destroying her vegetarian ways by binging on any available meat in the frig, will have readers grinning and chuckling aloud.

When friends and family members realize their efforts to get Mia back into the real world have failed, she is forcibly taken to her first-ever therapist appointment. Once she adjusts to the fact that her therapist's name is indeed Dr. Knutz, and that he has a penchant for dressing like a cowboy and telling horse stories, she recognizes that he might actually be able to help her survive her depression.

The usual cast of characters is still in place, with some expanded roles for characters like the "hot" J.P. and the previously irritating Lana. Grandmere provides her own wacky brand of humor, especially as she deals with Mia's depression and a sudden growth spurt that give Mia a much more "womanly" figure.

Plot twists offer readers romance, mental health issues, important social engagements, and challenging "princess" decisions. Mia manages to deal with everything in her always entertaining and quirky way. Fans old and new are sure to have a great time reading PRINCESS MIA.

Reviewed by: Sally Kruger, aka "Readingjunky"
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2009
When I started to read this book I was worried that it was going to be another pathetic story full of whining and moaning from Mia, much like books 4 - 7, but thankfully Mia's depressive period didn't last for too long. There were some things which I liked about this book: the absence of Michael, who I always thought was unsuited for Mia; the absence of Lilly, who Mia should learn to stand up to; the story about the diary of Mia's ancestor, which was quite interesting; the subplot about Kenny - hilarious!; Mia realising that pining over Michael was going to get her nowhere; and Mia becoming friends with Lana, and her realisation that Lana isn't horrible, just shallow. Overall, this has to be one of the most realistic Princess Diaries books ever! I'm actually looking forward to reading the last book. I have to admit that Mia's "depression" irritated me and her behaviour when she broke up with Michael was quite pathetic for a girl of her age, and the character of JP seems to be quite 2D at some points. But this didn't spoil the book too much, and it was, all in all, an enjoyable read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2009
I bought this book with some trepidation. I have done nothing but moan about the quality of the previous eight books and have found Mia's self pity increasingly irritating. However, this book was a complete turnaround. Other characters started noticing her character flaws and she had to face up to situations and even grow up a little!

There was something quite addictive about this book, I think possibly the fact, that unlike with most of the series, you genuinely didn't know what was going to happen next. Will Mia and Lana finally become friends? Will Micheal take Mia back? The plot twists and turns and definitely holds your interest.

It didn't take me long to read, so my advice is borrow is from the library or source it through an amazon partner seller, but all in all definitely worth the trouble.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2008
The last volumes in the series were not very interesting: Mia's whining style and self-made tiny problems definitely failed to catch my attention. But this book is different and Mag Cabot is back at her best! After loosing Michael to Japan, Mia falls into deep depression and only in steps recovers her world. The break needs her to newly adjust in her surroundings and with her friends and foes, and many people are not what they have appeared to be. A time of changes and growing up begins - crowned by the ultimate example taht 16-year-olds can make a change in the world (not only writing about it, as the books before did)!

A wonderful book to give you self-assurance yourself while following Mia's development! Live does not rule you, but you can rule the world!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2008
She's done it again. Meg Cabot has written another great book. Mia is heartbroken afer Micheal tells her that he just wants to be friends and Lilly still won't talk to her. She hasn't moved from her bed for 3 days and Mr G and Mom are so worried. Will anything go right fo Mia. I was hooked on the Princess Diaries from the first book and this doesn't dissapoint. Her best book yet.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2010
I bought this for my son after a long journey listening to the audio version of seventh heaven. He loves the whole series and is really into all the characters. It is great that he listens to this alongside Artemis Fowle and Percy jackson and other 'boy' books.

Having said that, at 10 he is probably just a little young. Although the 'sex' is very tame, it is there and there have been some moments when we have been listening together and I have wondered just how appropriate this is. Its key market is probably 13 year old girls and that would be OK. Ten is pushing it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
This book was totally addictive, Meg Cabot has perfectly portrayed a worried teen girl trying to get over her hot ex. I read this book in one day! :)
Isabella, age11
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
Nice little teen book! Easy to read, easy to understand. Very very very teen, but nice to read during vacation.. not much thinking involved! Haha!

Recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
Well what can I say, The Princess Diary series is a classic way for the old to understand the young. Even if it is written by someone not quite young any more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse