Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 27 January 2014
This is a very interesting document - a basis for future political science and philosophy. The translation is quite good and the book fairly easy to read despite its age. Machiavelli's views and advice to rulers are very interesting, and it is fun to see how they also apply to World history after the book was written. The only negative comment is to the author's attempt to interpret Machiavelli's purpose of writing the book. Apperantly numerous authors have throughout history tried to find a number of deeper explanations - other than the obvious - to try and get a job from the new rulers of Florence.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2016
Niccolo Machiavelli is the guy people refer too when they say that some one is "Machiavellian" which is to say incredibly ruthless. This came about mainly because of this book the Prince which is based on the advice Machiavelli gave to his king. A powerful book to dip into when you want to see things ruthlessly and objectively.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
Purchased for my History course. Very useful introduction to this edition that sets the scene and gives you a very clear insight into Machiavelli, his times and works. Text size of this edition was adequate for me, but may be a little small for others.

A thoroughly enjoyable read and definitely one of those books that everyone should probably read at least once.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2015
Essential reading for those who would wield power, either in business or in politics, this used to be a book that you would either borrow from a library or seek secondhand in your university bookshop. Now it is in e-book format, perhaps more people will read and absorb its wisdom. The language is not archaic enough to be a challenge in itself, and the messages are clear. I wonder how many African and Arab leaders have read it?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2016
Machiavelli is not the arch-demon or despot that his name has become associated with but an acute observer of the systems of power and how best to,use it to produce desired outcomes. While princes these days are thin on the ground, this book, along with T'sun Tsu's The Art of War, should be required reading for every student of politics. Don't let the slim size fool you. There is much more meat than meets the eye on the first pass.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
Brilliant. If you want to know how to behave in a crowd of back stabbing people, this is the book for you. Jokes aside, Machiavelli had an acute eye for human nature and how best to foil the plans of others by clever, cunning actions. A must read if you want to improve your confidence, and stance in the work place, and anywhere else. The Prince can be ruthless but then so is the world with its greed and exploitation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
I first read The Prince in business school, and coming back to it now simply reinforces this book's value as the seminal work of strategic thinking, applicable to business, warfare, and every aspect of influence. Hopefully, its availability as an ebook should now ensure it reaches a wider audience, because it should be required reading for anyone contemplating leadership as a career path.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
A very interesting book about the necessity of using evil for the 'greater good'. Many people in positions of authority use it a kind of Bible. There are parallels between Machiavelli and Dante's political thinking in that both believe the only way to deal with the fractious politics of Italy at the time was through a centralised authority. To add to the enjoyment of the book, Machiavelli has some wonderfully poetic turns of phrase to explain his suggestions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
I bought this book after seeing a documentary on Machiavelli on BBC.. The book was written 500 years ago. I should have bought this 49 years ago, now I am retired. But still find it very interesting and now I am thinking where did I go wrong. I never knew that this book was in existence for 500. No body told me about this book. I am now happy that my son and daughter have bought this book and they find it useful in their career.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
I found it a little difficult to wrap my head around from having very little knowledge about the Florence Renaissance, but got a better understanding after reading it more than once. Niccolo Machiavelli's views on politics makes you very engaged in the book.

The book was a little smaller than expected but for the price it is what you're paying for. I personally prefer these smaller pocket books :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)