Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
124
4.1 out of 5 stars
The Prime Of Miss Jean Brodie
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 25 September 2017
Beautifully written and leaves you wrestling with the dilemmas presented long after reading it. Superb and highly recommended. See also the great Maggie Smith in the Brodie movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
Loving the narration by Miriam Margolyes! And of course, it's a truly enduring classic novel. A treat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2017
Ms Spark says a lot with very few words or pages even.Far better than the film or TV series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2017
I enjoyed re- reading this but did not seem so outspoken and modern as it did when it was first published
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2017
I read this for book club which is the only reason I finished it. Dreary in the extreme.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
Good !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2017
Rather old fashion these days but I enjoyed rereading after a 40 year gap
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
Loved it, after seeing film long ago
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
Very ntertaining
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2016
This book has been on my radar for years, but for some reason I’ve never got round to it or seen the iconic film version. I have read Spark’s ‘The Driver’s Seat’ which was brilliant and strange and shocking, so I wasn’t really sure what to expect from this.
It’s also brilliant and strange and shocking. Spark is a writer who refuses to be bound by convention. She writes in the way she wants to write and this book is wonderful because of that. Miss Jean Brodie is one of the most fascinating characters I’ve ever read about, and the way she speaks and behaves are skilfully portrayed. The narrative moves back and forth, showing the teacher and her girls at various stages from when they are ten right through to when they are adults.
The way Brodie manipulates and influences the girls is shocking at times, as is the behaviour of the girls themselves (and some of the other teachers). And the casual cruelties, particularly directed at poor, unfortunate Mary, reveal so much about human relationships. The interactions between the characters also reveal a lot about the conventions and social issues of the time, in the years leading up to the Second World War.
The book is short but it packs so much in. The economy of the writing shows real skill. Spark manages to say a great deal in a few words – a lesson that many writers could do with learning. Her use of language is the epitome of every word having meaning. There are no whimsical meanderings here.
Intelligent, dark, subtle and skillful – genuinely a classic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse