Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 July 2013
I bought two penny whistle tutor books, but this one is the best of the two. The other one as lots of tunes in it for when I can actually manage to play the penny whistle, but this one is better for a complete novice although I can read music. I like the humorous little comments sprinkled here and there, the layout is good, and I feel as if it is written by someone who has the penny whistle in his heart.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2010
This book goes out of the usual tin/penny whistle books, which are focused towards the irish folklore. The whistle is a very widespread instrument among other cultures and countries, and this book takes tune from many of them. It DOES NOT teach irish ornamentation but other kind of ornamentations making it excellent for people wanting to play the whistle as a generic folk wind instrument and not only as an irish one. It gradually introduces ornaments, music modes, variations on tonguing.

Cons: some minor errors and (most important) there is no audio support (cd or downloadable mp3s or whatever).
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
I already have a small collection of whistle tutors but I bought this one because it was written by Robin Williams.

It t is very informative and I particularly like that he has picked easy tunes to start and gradually developed through the book as you would expect but he has chosen such interesting tunes particularly from the English tradition. At the time this book was written most of these tunes were effectively lost to the general folk audience of the time.

Interesting use of modal tunes and good explanations.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 1999
Robin Williamson's Penny Whistle book has been around for a long time and it's a wonderful book for beginners and beyond. There are some stunningly beautiful, yet simple tunes in it and he does a wonderful job communicating in words how to develop a good sound and how to read music.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
This is no reflection on what I'm sure is an excellent book. The kindle version however (based upon the sample) is just a low resolution scan of the printed copy, rendering it virtually impossible to read on phone or tablet - I should imagine completely impossible on an eInk reader. Should not be offered by publisher in this format- very poor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2000
I've looked at many of the tutor books available in Scotland and Ireland, and in my experience having learned from it over 11 years now (and still learning), it is the very best. What makes it so special is its spirit. Learning to play the magic whistle is something that comes not so much from the notes, as from the soul - of yourself, and the Tradition. Williamson's ethos communicates something of that. Taking up the penny whistle will give you (if not your neighbours) instant satisfaction. (If you lay a piece of blue tac over half of the fipple, you can cut the volume away down when practicing). But only spend half your time learning from the book and other written music ... spend the other half playing simple things from the heart, "improvising" as some would say, "spiralling" as I'd call it. The the doors of the faerie hill will start to open, and poetry will flow.

Alastair McIntosh
55 Comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
A useful book to have if you intend to learn to play the whistle. I have to admit though I am one of those for whom a regular lesson with a tutor is the only true way to learn. I'm lazy I guess.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
On first receiving this I thought it was not that good but then I realised it was teaching the basics very well, and if you persevere it should give you a rigorous grounding in how to approach playing the tin whistle and learning to read musical notation. Enjoying it more each day!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
Excellent book. Good introduction followed by a variety of tunes to play - looking forward to learning them all!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2016
A good book would have appreciated some simple beginnings for early learners
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)