Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2012
I actually own a G3 so was a little wary of purchasing this book which is specific to the G2. However with this being my first 'serious' camera and Panasonic's manual for the camera being about as confusing as it can be, yes it covers the actual functions of the camera but gives no idea of what, when or where any particular function may be used to best effect.

This book does exactly that in plain, simple language which at times is actually amusing but direct to the point. For example when explaining auto focus the authors compare it to the human eye which also auto focuses but the human knows what it wants to focus on 'the mountains in the background or your friends in the foreground?'....'the camera has no friends'. The authors also explain that the camera has a plethora of settings (tell me about it) but in reality the majority will never be needed unless one specialises in a particular type of photography. All are explained clearly should you need them but advice is given which to have switched on and which to have switched off for general use. Brilliant.

As I said at the beginning I own a G3 so some of the buttons are not where described by the book but with a little thought it is easy to work out what the author is describing. The G3 also has a few extra facilities, i.e. pinpoint focusing but as this book describes the three other options of focus common to both cameras it's child's play to work out what the extra focus does.

If you own a Panasonic G2 or G3 series camera this book is a must have. Forget the manual use the book. It's much easier.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2012
Ordered this after reading review saying useful for G3. Much, much better than Panasonic Manual. I have GF2 model and virtually everything in the book applies to this model.
Learnt lots and lots, particularly useful are the legacy lenses information and the best options to use. I have old Olympus lenses which can be used with correct adaptors, saving money. The drill down menu descriptions were very useful as you can use the book in one hand and the camera in the other to get to the menu/facility you want. Can definitely recommend this book as a read from cover to cover one, plus keep for future reference. Free delivery in 3 days, outstanding service as usual.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
This book is a great help as I bought the camera on eBay and did not have any instructions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2011
Absolutely superb. Covers virtually every aspect of this very comprehensively specified camera. Clear illustrations & printed on high quality gloss paper.I wish that all guides were this good & this makes the supplied with camera information appear very second rate. Go ahead & buy it, you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2011
This book surpassed all my expectations regarding my new Lumix G2 system. The level of detail is superb, but also includes beginners tips for those wanting to get the most from a point and shoot perspective.

It is logically laid out and will offer anyone who owns this excellent piece of kit new insights into how to improve their results

Thoroughly recommended!!
11 Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2011
This is without doubt one of the best guides I have used, it doesn't assume you know about the camera but it isn't condescending either, the level is pitched directly at the amateur user but is good for the more experienced user to fine tune their knpwledge and has good user relevant tips, absolutely the best for anyone who wants to get tbe best out of the Lumix DMC G2 I would highly rcommend this book for any level of user.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2011
I am a very novice, self taught hobby photographer and bought this book to bridge the gap between the straight forward instruction manual and a 'how to' book. I actually own a Lumic G3 but figured that the structure of menus would be pretty similar (which for the most part, they are). This is not a 'how to take better photos' book but will show you how to get the most out of your camera. The explainations of every function and setting are covered and well explained. Also included is how to connect your G series to a telescope or microscope which adds a whole new realm of possibilties. If you have one of these cameras, I would thoroughly recommend it. If you have a different camera, I would still say it's worth a read for the explaination of functions, although you would have to find your own way through your cameras menus. Well done!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2011
Bought this book to fully understand what I could do with my Panasonic G2. brilliantly written and simplified even for the most technologically challenged. The best part it also gives third party recommendations for additional lenses to try on and also on how to couple with a telescope to take stunning pictures of night sky etc. Would definitely recommend for all panasonic G2 users/owners
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
Having used Panasonic Cameras for some time with much satisfaction. The only item required was a suitable user manual. At present using the DMC-G2 I decided to get "The Unofficial Quintessential Guide", as an aid.
After reading, learning, and discovering several options I had missed previously, I can say that if you own or use one of these Cameras, then this Book is a 100% must have!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2012
A excellent guide to getting the best out of the Panasonic DMC G2.
The camera itself is brilliant, but the instruction manual that Panasonic supply is a difficult one to find out information.
This guide fully makes up for it by explaining very clearly how to get the best out of the camera. It makes valuable suggestions for use of the settings.
Moreover it gives clear instructions how to extend the use of the camera by means of an inexpensive adaptor to utilise one's old 35 mm lenses.
The recommendations have been most helpful and this is an essential addition to the camera to get the most out of it
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)