Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 September 2001
Donaldson just appears to get better and better as he continues to write. This, the second book in the Second Chronicles follows Covenant as he leaves the Land in search of outside help, a disconcerting read at first as you leave the comforting vistas of the land, but the book soon benefits from the vastly increased setting and you begin to appreciate the genius in the world that donaldson has created outside of the known Land.
A must read for any Fantasy fan.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
This is Book 4 of an epic that I feel is right up there with Lord of the Rings. Wish I had not given my paperbacks away as I now am having to buy them all on kindle, but this series is worth every penny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
This is part (no. 5) of a very long series. It is well worth the time, in my opinion, but a few caveats: start at the beginning (Lord Foul' Bane is the beginning of the first trilogy, The wounded Land starts the second), realise that the work is as much a discourse on personal responsibility and free will vs. Determinism as it is an epic tale with marvellous characters and stunning settings, and have a dictionary handy. Donaldson is a wonderful writer, but he's clearly in love with words, and archaisms abound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2010
Yet another gripping "can't put it down" epic for Thomas Covenant. Beautifully written so that you are fully immersed in the plot. The company of giants being as real for the reader as any normal experience. The echo of past events from the real world playing out as revenge in the Land is so natural to the plot that you'd be forgiven to miss them. The writer clearly understands human nature both at rest and under extreme pressure to be able to show us thoughts and feelings as witnessed through different characters.

If you have enjoyed the first chronicles, then you will also thoroughly enjoy this first book from the second chronicles. If you haven't read the first chronicles yet, make sure your not doing anything time critical when you start. These books keep you captivated.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
what an you say about something so unique?This book can be read alone,but is much better read in sequence.I think Donaldson has created a world which to understand read one book and be prepared to buy the other eight!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
Oh, Mr Donaldson, what are you doing to your previously wonderful series?

As ever, the writing of "The One Tree" is beautiful, the canvas upon which the author paints is both rich and vast.

So why only 3/5?

Firstly, for most of the book, the two principles characters hate themeselves.
Covenant hates what he is being forced to do and the power he must bear.
Linden hates herself for secretly wanting Covenant's power.

It is just getting tedious, and both of them need a good slap and told to pull themselves together.

Secondly, the author has given the ending of the whole trilogy away when The Quest enters the realm of Elohim and the natives are suprised that both Linden and Covenant exist because they had expected their respective powers to be consolidated into one being. Well what could that mean? Duuuh... either a birth or a death methinks? That has taken alot of dramatic tension out of this book for me.

Thirdly, the characters of Vain and Findail are vexing in the extreme. Vain I can kind of forgive, but as he is a perverse reflection of Findail I will take them both together. Findail is earthpower made flesh - bascially a god. However, instead of using his power, all he does is give cryptic warnings, but no answers or alternatives. Other than sitting on the fence, there is very little that he does (barring the Gaddhi)... but if he wanted to he could. It is just all so frustrating.

Finally, as with "The Wounded" Land, there is no resolution here. There is high adventure, death, betrayal... but, other than moving a few continents, neither the plot nor any of the subplots (perhaps with the exception of the romance) are any further forward.

Which means that this trilogy hangs entirely on "The White Gold Wielder".

All I can say is that is better be pretty amazing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2016
I love all three sets of chronicles and spent years waiting for the final books to be written. I have now read them all 4 times and get something new out of them everything. Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
This is one of the best 6 book double trilogy I have ever read, in my view better than Lord of the Rings and that trilogy is fantastic
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
Effectively the fifth book in the series of Thomas Covenant. For serious readers of fantasy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2016
God this series has lasted too long! Stop being so bloody pathetic Mr Covenant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)