Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



TOP 500 REVIEWERon 31 March 2017
A classic 1970's Horror/Sci-fi movie with Charlton Heston, that I really do like.
It's based on the last man on earth, and tells the story of a survivor of a biological catastrophe which has killed the majority of the planets population, and mutated a few more, our hero is of course Immune.
Charlton Heston plays the role in a similar way to his role in Planet of the Apes, and much better in my opinion than Will Smith in I am legend.

Watching the Omega Man, I fell a real sense of foreboding and danger to the stories main character and its very pessimistic plot line was reminiscent of many movies of its type in the 1970's when happy endings in movies were not popular.

Well the picture quality is looking a little dated, and were used to over the top special effects, but the Omega man shines in my opinion as its character centered, and story driven and so engaging.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 September 2015
This end-of-the-world (by bacterial plague) film is somewhat overlooked today, which is a pity. Solid performances by the leads, and an intelligent, well-crafted story will keep you watching from the intriguing start to the sober yet hopeful end, via some clever twists, turns and revelations.

If you are expecting non-stop, large-scale action, "The Omega Man" may not be for you. Although there are some decent action scenes, they are not the reason to watch. The characters are what counts, and they are all interesting and believable in their different ways.

Special mention must be made of Ron Grainer's superb score, which in my opinion works very well indeed and is one of my favourite soundtracks: The Omega Man (OST).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2017
Omega Man seemed scary when watching it as a kid in '70s. I remember thinking it could be quite prophetic. I've grown up and film has dated. What is with the Jimmy Saville wigs and Michael Jackson skin colouring? As I've grown up I've probably learned to appreciate better acting in films. Charlton Heston maybe an on-screen presence but it's a very wooden one (I also note he likes guns as much then as he does now - God Save America!) The film still has some nice premises and I would have liked to investigate his loneliness, and know more about the delusions such as the ringing telephones and how much effort he put into almost believing his chess games. Film probably deserves 2.5 stars but that isn't allowed so I traded up because I liked it once.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2013
Okay, I saw this many years ago on TV, but a recent viewing of the Will Smith remake had me hankering after this Blu-Ray original. In many ways, it is reflected in it's own time with the portrayals of the infected and he-man attitutes. The limits of the period make-up and special effects are obvious, but the film's hook is that it has a menacing, shadowy feel to it and it serves the film well that the bleak mood is maintained almost throughout. Heston really does look on the edge as he moves about the city changing clothes and cars with a tilt at the pointless consumer society. Anthony Zerbe has great fun and delivers an excellent turn as the evil Methias. Downsides are few - The motorbike chase doubling was cringe-worthy even in the 70s and Heston's end, draped on the fountain "like Christ on the cross?" looks too similar to his gunning-down scene in the church from Soylent Green. Overall though, there is an awful lot to enjoy in this enthusiastic slice of seventies sci-fi relish.90%
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2017
An enjoyable great movie, way better then the re-make. The DVD contains the theatrical trailer, an introduction by the screenwriter and a couple of actors and there is a short documentary on the making that will give you some great movie info.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2011
The Omega Man recently had a bit of a resurgance after the release of the Will Smith reimagining I Am Legend (both based on the I Am Legend book). The world has been obliterated after a biological war and there are very very few survivors, but there are quite a few 'walking dead' who have been infected with a plague in the aftermath. Heston spends his time avoiding and fighting these people but some of the best scenes actually come from Heston talking to himself, like when he is watching Woodstock in a deserted cinema. The story takes a turn when he meets Lisa who is looking after some healthy children and it revives his human passion and emotion for life in order to help them. The empty streets look great, Heston is a good choice for the lead and it is well paced. Recommended. 3.5/5
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2018
I love this film, and it's better than the remake they did, It's also better than the even older
version that Vincent Price did. Some ham acting in it, including Charlton Heston at times,
but it's a good story which helps.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2015
Blu-ray review. It's a very average transfer of a great film and only marginally better than the DVD. Hopefully at a point in the future someone will make a cleaner transfer than this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2018
The omega man was a classic , dated when it was made, over acted none more so than chuck heston. However I first saw it as a lad, and was scared by it. I loved it then and love it now. Empty streets, solitude etc, even the truely awful bad guys. Watch it and say to yourself they don't make films like this anymore!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2018
The best version of Richard Matherson's sci-fi horror classic ' I Am Legend' Charlton Heston is the last man on Earth, battling against mutants in a post apocalyptic world. To say this is a Cult classic is an understatement, great score by Ron Grainer too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)