Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 1 April 2000
I feel I must correct all the other reviews of this book given to date which criticise it's use of American words, and removal of any words possibly deemed offensive.
In Britain, Scrabble is played by Chambers' "Official Scrabble Words", based upon the latest edition of the Chambers Dictionary. In the US they base their word list upon Merriam-Webster's Dictionary, and all club and tournament games are played using the contents of that lexicon, but without any possibly offensive words.
Hence, the contents of the OSPD (this book) are the exact words allowed in official games of Scrabble in America - like it or lump it, that's the way the Yanks play it.
This book should not really be bought or used by anyone outside of the US - players in Britain should use Chambers' Official Scrabble Words instead, since this is the official British word source.
0Comment| 87 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2017
given as a gift - person loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 1999
An extremely frustrating book to use for players with a vocabulary that extends beyond North American usages; the censoring of words 'likely to offend' is inappropriate. I'd buy the Chambers dictionary instead were I doing it again!
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2017
i am very pleased with my purchase got it on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2017
Bought this as a present for my grandson and his partner. They love it and are busy learning it off by heart!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2015
A very handy book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 1999
This is a seriously misguided edition. Words which appeared in the First and Second editions but are now considered "likely to offend" have been eliminated. This means that some of the oldest words in the English language have been erased, even though the rules of Scrabble expressly permit archaic and slang terms. Merriam-Webster's job is not that of moral arbiter and if they thought it important to have a version suitable for children, then they should have released a separate children's edition, rather than mutilating the adults' one.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2006
This dictionary is incomplete and is not a suitable work for even a moderately serious player. Most disappointing.
22 Comments| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2003
The OSPD is no ordinary dictionary. There are capsule definitions given but no usage tips. All the entries are in caps. Since there are no proper names allowed, this doesn't matter. The most important information about the entries (from the point of view of the Scrabble player) is how they are spelled, how they are made plural, how the gerund and past tenses are formed, and whether you can make comparatives or superlatives out of the word and how.
For example the plural of "bijou" (a jewel) is either "bijoux" or "bijous," and the OSPD gives that info. The gerund of "snib" (to latch) is "snibbing" while the comparative of "sleazy" is "sleazier" and the superlative, "sleaziest." There is also the adverb, "sleazily."
The -er form of a word is listed separately. If you don't find it, it's not a word!--or at least that should be our agreement. For example "renown" is a noun and a verb but there is no "renowner"--"someone who makes renown" since the verb is intransitive, but there is a "tearer"--"one who tears." (There's also a "terror," but never mind.)
By the way, words beginning with the prefix "re" as in, e.g., "reword" are listed separately from words that begin with the "re" that is not a prefix. Again, "renown" is not listed after "rename" but follows "renovate" a few pages later.
The other peculiarities of the entries are explained in the Introduction, which I highly recommend you read. (Be sure your informed opponent has read it!) There it is explained why "You should look always look at several entries above and below the expected place..." when searching for the word in question. You should also read the brief Preface in which the editors explain why some offensive (especially four-letter) words do not appear. Note too that words longer than eight letters (and indeed one-letter words) do not appear (except for some inflected forms) because they are seldom if ever used in a Scrabble game. Of course most veteran players have on occasion played a very nice nine-letter, double triple-word, 50-point bonus word. I did myself once. I wish I could remember what it was.
For casual players, who typically use a collegiate dictionary to settle spelling disputes, the contents of this little green book will come as something of a shock. You mean "zax" is a word? How about "zek"? Can you believe "jefe"? This is just to name three off hand that are not in the Random House college dictionary I have in front of me.
There are in fact in the OSPD seven words beginning with a "q" not followed by a "u" (qaid, qanat, qat, qindar, qintar, qiviut, and qoph--in case you're in the middle of a game). Don't laugh. In some households there is a Scrabble game going on at all times just as in some other households the TV is always on. Random House's college dictionary doesn't give "qaid" or "qanat" but surprisingly has "qadi" which is not given by the OSPD.
I think Scrabble has influenced dictionary compilers because if you look at the Merriam-Webster (the same company that produces the OSPD) Ninth Collegiate (copyright 1985) you will find only qintar, qiviut and qoph. But even more tellingly if you look at Merriam-Webster's Second International Unabridged Dictionary (I have the edition of 1950), the Grand Dame of American dictionaries, you will find that there are no words beginning with a "q" not followed by a "u": no "qat," no "qintar," no "qoph," etc.
With so much variation between dictionaries, the good folks at Merriam-Webster saw a need and filled it. Most people I know play "house rules" and rely on the dictionary(ies) that happen to be in residence. My recommendation is that you buy two of these green books, one in paperback to take with you when you take your Scrabble game on the road, and another in hardback to have at home. Of course if you haven't used this book before it will take some getting used to. But buy a Scrabble software program and practice with this book at hand, and after some time you will find that, with all those extra words to play with, you can really rack up the points!
One other thing to realize is that some of the spellings and even some of the words in the OSPD are really not standard anymore and should not be considered part of the so-called "Standard English" that we all read and (usually) speak. This fact does not detract from the utility of the OSPD for Scrabble players; however, as other reviewers have pointed out, when writing a term paper use a "real" dictionary.
In short, it is not the plentiful number of Scrabble-type words that appear in this dictionary that makes it so valuable--although that is certainly one of its best features. It is rather the definitive way the OSPD demonstrates exactly how different forms of words are spelled, something not always done in your average dictionary.
The OSPD is most valuable because it settles spelling disputes in a quick and unambiguous manner, and that alone is reason enough to buy this book.
[Note: in the UK the Chambers book is considered the best authority for Scrabble usage, but in the US this book is the standard.]
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2009
Any prospective buyers need to know that this pertains to the game in the USA
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)