Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
314
The Nightingale Sisters: (Nightingales 2)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 24 August 2015
This is the second book in the Nightingale series. It maintains the high standard of the first book. The introductions are over and its down to the nitty gritty of nursing. There is humour, sadness and even tragedy but then that is a true reflection of nursing at that time. The main characters are there and live as ever but there is more love tangles too. I think too there is more emphasis on the ward sisters and the author demonstrates well that what is on the surface is not always the true picture. The new night sister features strongly in this story and I found her story captivating. Loved this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2014
the first book I'd read by this author, was the first one in this series, I find them hard to put down, nothing else matters, only reading these books, I can't get enough of them.
The characters in these book are wide ranging, from girls who are poor and live in the slums, to girls who families are well to do, and one thing that's great is, they carry on the story from where the last book ends, which for me is fantastic, it really annoys me when you finish one book, and then the next in the series takes you somewhere completely different.

These series of books are a must read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 July 2013
It is new year for Helen, Millie and Dora in their training at Nightingale training hospital. But as they train, their personal lives continue to have drama. From Dora and her family trying to survive after her step-father takes off. To Mille, still struggling with her training and a fiancé who wants to marry her sooner. Also a new night sister Violet Tanner, who is keeping some very dark secrets to herself.
"The Nightingale Sister" is the second book in the series by Donna Douglas and as again it was a good read. The characters and the storyline was good and I can't wait to read the book in the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2017
Couldn't put it down ,read in one day . Gripping story lines heart breaking,yet warm and so interesting.Just glad there are more to follow,will be ordering them all .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 November 2013
As claimed - The whole series read by my wife on her new Kindle Paperwhite
She is now reading more books than ever before as she finds the format very friendly.

Being a Nurse she has some similar experiences of her own - but loves to read of the drams and difficulties faced by colleagues in tougher times.
She enjoyed this very much but never writes a proper review.
As I paid for them - I am!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2013
I so enjoyed "The nightingale girls" that this was a delight to see how the Nurses had progressed, here we read more of the Sisters Home back grounds & their life styles not as smooth as one wound imagine A story that keeps you turning the pages & hard to put the book down lovely story & a lot of materiel that could be used for another book I hope thank you Donna Douglas
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2013
have read both books in this series and cant wait for the next instalment of nightingale nurses due out oct 2013. This book is the follow on story of a group of girls undertaking their nurses training in the nightingale hospital in war days, about their relationships with each other, romances in and outside of the hospital, friendships, heartbreak this book has it all. A wonderful read would thoroughly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2017
The writer isn’t the greatest, phrases are often repeated and one character had an unexplained change of surname after the first book but the characters and stories lines are gripping. I’ve fell in love with the characters and can’t put the books down!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2018
Enjoyable read. Always enjoy donna douglas books .As I am a retired nurse., from a different, more modern generation.
.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2018
Very good condition - clean and tidy. Arrived by date expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse